• Sign in to follow this  
    Followers 0

    Quick Drive: 2014 Jeep Patriot Latitude 4X4


    • The Pretender

    You know how your mother would tell you if you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all. Well this being a vehicle review, that is an impossible task since I have to explain why or why not you should consider ‘x’ vehicle. The reason I bring this up is because I spent a week in the 2014 Jeep Patriot Latitude 4X4 and I found myself being very disappointed in the model.

    Now before I go into the list of reasons of why I particularly didn’t like the Patriot, I should begin with the things I did like. First off, the Patriot looks like a Jeep. What I mean is that when you’re walking up to the vehicle for the first time, you can recognize it as a Jeep. This is due to the boxy shape which calls back to the XJ Cherokee. Not a bad choice at all. The other item I appreciated in the Patriot was the choice of two different all-wheel drive systems. My tester came equipped with the Freedom-Drive I system which essentially boils down to an all-wheel drive system with a locking differential. Optional is the Freedom-Drive II system which adds crawl range and extra skid plates. This means this Patriot can go a bit further in the rough than many other compact crossovers. Jeep also addressed one of the biggest problems in the Patriot by giving the interior better materials throughout such as soft-touch plastics on the dashboard.

    Now on to the complaints. First off, the Patriot feels very small. I get the model is a compact, but with a low room and minimal glass area, I felt very boxed in. Those with the fear of enclosed spaces should pass on this. Also for a vehicle with a price tag of almost $27,000, the lack of Bluetooth was infuriating. Considering most, if not all of the Patriot’s competitors, either come with it standard or as an option; the lack of it is unacceptable.

    Power comes from a 2.4L four-cylinder which makes 172 horsepower and 165 pound-feet of torque. Before I go any further, I need to stress this is the older 2.4 and not the one you find in such models such as the Dart I drove recently. This engine does a great job at producing NVH and not so much in power. I felt like I had to floor the pedal just to get the engine out of its leisurely mode. A six-speed automatic takes the place of the CVT that has been with the model since its introduction and does an ok job with the 2.4 with giving smooth shifts. Fuel economy isn’t the best either with EPA ratings of 21 City/27 Highway/23 Combined. I only saw 19 MPG during my week.

    The ride is sits somewhere in the middle of comfort and firm. The Patriot’s suspension doing its best to isolate road imperfections and potholes. Steering is nicely weighted, which is a good thing if you decide to head off onto a trail or something. Wind and road noise are very noticeable when you’re driving/riding. I had the radio cranked just to try and drown out some of the road noise coming into the cabin.

    Looking at Patriot as a whole, it just is completely outclassed by every other crossover in the marketplace. Sure, you can get a smoking deal on one, but is it really worth it? After spending a week in one, I can say the answer is no.

    Disclaimer: Jeep Provided the Patriot Latitude, Insurance, and One Tank of Gas

    Year: 2014

    Make: Jeep

    Model: Patriot

    Trim: Latitude 4X4

    Engine: 2.4L DOHC 16-Valve Inline-Four W/Dual-VVT

    Driveline: Six-Speed Automatic, Four-Wheel Drive

    Horsepower @ RPM: 172 @ 6,000

    Torque @ RPM: 165 @ 4,400

    Fuel Economy: City/Highway/Combined - 21/27/23

    Curb Weight: 3,359 lbs

    Location of Manufacture: Belvidere, Illinois

    Base Price: $23,795

    As Tested Price: $26,875 (Includes $995.00 Destination Charge)

    Options:

    All Weather Capability Group - $795

    UConnect 430 CD/DVD/MP3/HDD - $695

    Security and Convenience Group - $595

    William Maley is a staff writer for Cheers & Gears. He can be reached at william.maley@cheersandgears.com or you can follow him on twitter at @realmudmonster.

    0


      Report Article
    Sign in to follow this  
    Followers 0


    User Feedback


    Any reason why there is a Patriot AND a Compass?  Maybe ditching one for the other might address the confusion issues.  Also, $27K for that?!  Pass.

    0

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    My son has a Patriot Latitude and I love it. Great Jeep, the Freedom Drive II or marketing known as the Trail Rated edition is worth getting. We use his jeep to go up skiing and I can say that we have never gotten stuck, the crawl mode worked great in some crazy snow and ice weather. Others including Subaru where all over and I know this is drivers experience but the Jeep was solid. Also at 6'6" tall, I still have tons of head room and people can sit behind me. So this compact jeep has plenty of inside space. Also after a year and half of ownership the Jeep is averaging 27mpg on the highway. He drives 30 miles round trip to work and back and still gets mid to high 20's. In city driving he has seen constant 21-22mpg. This is with the CVT transmission.

     

    This JEEP DOES have BLUETOOTH! The base radio which for some reason is still available in the mid range model for Latitude does not have bluetooth but all other radios come with it. When Alex was shopping every latitude he looked at either had the nav system with bluetooth or at least the XM Bluetooth stereo and it works flawlessly at connecting to his iPhone. It is a shame that they gave you a great CUV that was missing basic selling points. On a base model, yes I can see not having bluetooth, but once you go to mid grade that should just be standard.

     

    Jeep still has great deals on these as my son's Latitude is fully loaded. Just one tick below the Limited model and he paid with tax and license out the door $24,379 and change. I see the local Jeep dealerships always advertising the latitude loaded for around 24-25 right now and fully loaded Limited around 26-27K. So the price has gone up big time on MSRP, but actual selling price is still much lower.

     

    Awesome Jeep, I highly recommend the Latitude model, just make sure to get the XM stereo so you have your bluetooth and built in harddrive for loading tunes. :)

    1

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

    Guest
    You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
    Add a comment...

    ×   You have pasted content with formatting.   Remove formatting

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    Loading...



  • Popular Stories

  • Similar Content

    • By William Maley
      FCA US Reports November 2016 U.S. Sales
      Ram Truck brand sales up 12 percent compared with same month a year ago; Ram pickup truck sales up 8 percent All-new 2017 Chrysler Pacifica minivan sales up 13 percent compared with previous month of October Jeep® Renegade sales up 30 percent; all-new 2017 Jeep Compass makes its U.S. debut at the Los Angeles Auto Show December 1, 2016 , Auburn Hills, Mich. - FCA US LLC today reported U.S. sales of 160,827 units, a 14 percent decrease compared with sales in November 2015 (187,731 units).
      FCA US retail sales of 126,780 units were down 2 percent year over year in November, representing 79 percent of total sales for the month. Fleet sales of 34,047 units were down 42 percent year over year in November as FCA US continues to reduce its sales to the daily rental segment. Fleet sales represented 21 percent of total FCA US sales in the month.
       
      Ram Truck brand sales were up 12 percent in November versus the same month in 2015. Ram ProMaster van sales increased 126 percent in November, while Ram pickup truck sales increased 8 percent. The Jeep® Renegade small SUV had a strong November with a 30 percent sales gain, while sales of the Fiat 500 were up 18 percent compared with the same month a year ago.
       
      Sales of the all-new 2017 Chrysler Pacifica – launched earlier this year – were up 13 percent in November compared with sales in the previous month of October. November sales represented the minivan’s second best sales month this year.
       
      Ram Truck brand sales are up 11 percent calendar year to date through November compared with the same 11-month period in 2015. Jeep brand sales are up 8 percent calendar year to date as well.
       
      Ram Truck Brand
      Ram Truck brand sales, which include the Ram pickup, Ram ProMaster and Ram ProMaster City, increased 12 percent in November versus the same month in 2015. With its 126 percent sales gain, the Ram ProMaster van turned in the largest year-over-year percentage increase of any FCA US vehicle in November. Sales of the Ram pickup truck increased 8 percent in November. The Ram 1500 earned Best Buy awards last month from Consumers Digest and Consumer Guide Automotive. Also last month, the Green Car Journal named the Ram ProMaster City its 2017 Commercial Green Car of the Year for the second consecutive year – the first time a vehicle has won one of the magazine’s titles consecutively. Ram Truck brand sales are up 11 percent calendar year to date compared with the same 11 months in 2015.
      Jeep Brand
      Jeep brand sales were down 12 percent compared with the same month a year ago. The Jeep Renegade turned in a strong 30 percent increase in November compared with the same month in 2015. The Renegade earned Best Buy awards last month from Consumers Digest and Consumer Guide Automotive in the subcompact SUV segment. In addition, the Jeep Grand Cherokee earned a Consumers Digest Best Buy for the seventh consecutive year in the mid-size SUV category. Jeep brand sales are up 8 percent calendar year to date compared with the first 11 months of 2015.
       
      The all-new 2017 Jeep Compass made its U.S. debut last month at the Los Angeles Auto Show. The global compact SUV delivers unsurpassed 4x4 capability, world-class on-road driving dynamics, advanced fuel-efficient powertrains and premium styling. The Compass will be manufactured in Brazil, China, Mexico and India, for consumers in more than 100 countries around the world.
       
      FIAT Brand
      FIAT brand sales, which include the Fiat 500, Fiat 500L, Fiat 500X and Fiat 124 Spider, were down 15 percent in November. However, sales of the Fiat 500 were up 18 percent year-over-year in November. In its fifth month in the market, the all-new 124 Spider recorded sales of 350 units. The 124 Spider earned a 2017 Best Buy last month in the sporty performance car segment from the automotive editors at Consumer Guide Automotive, who noted that the 124 Spider “represents an impressive amount of fun for the money.” The 124 Spider also took home the award for Best-Looking New Car from readers of The Car Connection in November.
      Dodge Brand
      Dodge brand sales were down 21 percent in November compared with the same month in 2015. However, Dodge Charger sales increased 34 percent compared with the same month a year ago. Dodge Viper sales were up as well. The Dodge Durango earned a Best Buy last month from Consumer Guide Automotive in the large SUV category – for the fifth consecutive year. In addition, for the third time in three years, the Charger has earned the Residual Value Award in the full-size category from ALG, the industry benchmark for residual values and depreciation data. Also, the Charger and Durango were “most loved” in their respective segments for the third consecutive year making Strategic Vision’s “Most Loved Vehicles in America” list, while the Dodge Challenger earned a spot on the list in the specialty coupe category.
       
      Chrysler Brand
      Chrysler brand sales were down 47 percent in November compared with the same month a year ago. However, the all-new Chrysler Pacifica posted sales of 8,753 units in November, a 13 percent sales gain versus the previous month of October. The 2017 Pacifica minivan – launched in April – earned Best Buy awards from Consumer Guide Automotive, Consumers Digest and Kelley Blue Book last month. In the Consumer Guide Automotive competition, the Pacifica captured both the Minivan and Family Vehicle Best Buy awards. In addition, the Pacifica earned “Best Car to Buy” and “Best Family Vehicle to Buy” designations from The Car Connection. The Chrysler 300 full-size sedan grabbed an award last month as well, earning its fifth Best Buy award in the luxury car segment from Consumers Digest.
      FCA US LLC Sales Summary November 2016
      Reflects New Methodology
                      Month Sales
      Vol %
      CYTD Sales
      Vol %
      Model
      Curr Yr
      Pr Yr
      Change
      Curr Yr
      Pr Yr
      Change
      Compass
      6,984
      9,209
      -24%
      86,107
      64,188
      34%
      Patriot
      8,568
      9,933
      -14%
      114,117
      108,968
      5%
      Wrangler
      12,957
      13,948
      -7%
      176,053
      186,835
      -6%
      Cherokee
      11,479
      18,218
      -37%
      183,356
      196,092
      -6%
      Grand Cherokee
      17,230
      17,662
      -2%
      189,023
      175,746
      8%
      Renegade
      10,067
      7,719
      30%
      94,561
      52,211
      81%
      JEEP BRAND
      67,285
      76,689
      -12%
      843,217
      784,040
      8%
      200
      2,849
      10,103
      -72%
      54,651
      157,705
      -65%
      300
      2,566
      4,635
      -45%
      49,657
      48,756
      2%
      Town & Country
      350
      12,537
      -97%
      58,805
      86,908
      -32%
      Pacifica
      8,753
      0
      New
      52,083
      0
      New
      CHRYSLER BRAND
      14,518
      27,275
      -47%
      215,196
      293,369
      -27%
      Dart
      2,203
      7,201
      -69%
      41,877
      82,041
      -49%
      Avenger
      1
      15
      -93%
      45
      1,294
      -97%
      Charger
      9,138
      6,804
      34%
      88,200
      88,323
      0%
      Challenger
      3,908
      4,297
      -9%
      59,176
      61,813
      -4%
      Viper
      62
      45
      38%
      571
      627
      -9%
      Journey
      7,133
      8,023
      -11%
      96,991
      100,256
      -3%
      Caravan
      6,696
      10,926
      -39%
      120,991
      89,833
      35%
      Durango
      4,934
      5,644
      -13%
      62,678
      56,897
      10%
      DODGE  BRAND
      34,075
      42,955
      -21%
      470,529
      481,084
      -2%
      Ram P/U
      36,885
      34,145
      8%
      441,862
      408,724
      8%
      Cargo Van
      0
      2
      -100%
      21
      2,157
      -99%
      ProMaster Van
      4,702
      2,084
      126%
      35,746
      23,658
      51%
      ProMaster City
      924
      1,721
      -46%
      14,625
      8,015
      82%
      RAM BRAND
      42,511
      37,952
      12%
      492,254
      442,554
      11%
      Giulia
      0
      0
      New
      7
      0
      New
      Alfa 4C 
      23
      34
      -32%
      457
      603
      -24%
      ALFA BRAND
      23
      34
      -32%
      464
      603
      -23%
      500
      1,147
      974
      18%
      14,026
      22,243
      -37%
      500L
      96
      231
      -58%
      3,016
      7,275
      -59%
      500X
      822
      1,621
      -49%
      10,869
      7,785
      40%
      Spider
      350
      0
      New
      2,225
      0
      New
      FIAT BRAND
      2,415
      2,826
      -15%
      30,136
      37,303
      -19%
      TOTAL FCA US LLC
      160,827
      187,731
      -14%
      2,051,796
      2,038,953
      1%
                        Total Car & MPV
      38,142
      57,802
      -34%
      545,787
      647,421
      -16%
          Total UV's
      80,174
      91,977
      -13%
      1,013,755
      948,978
      7%
          Total Truck & LCV
      42,511
      37,952
      12%
      492,254
      442,554
       
    • By William Maley
      Plans for a flagship Jeep may have been trashed. Autoline Daily reported yesterday that Fiat Chrysler Automobiles have cancelled plans for the Grand Wagoneer that was due for the 2019 model. Citing information from industry planning company Auto Forecast Solutions, Autoline Daily says the company cannot stretch out the platform that underpins the Jeep Grand Cherokee and Dodge Durango for a model that would be in a higher segment. 
      Autoline Daily goes on to say that work may continue on a flagship model for Jeep, but use the platform that underpins the Ram 1500 pickup.
      Rumors of the Grand Wagoneer have been floating around for a couple of years and it only recently confirmed by Jeep CEO Mike Manley. Last month, we got a possible preview as to what Grand Wagoneer's front end could look like.
      Source: Autoline Daily (Video Below)
       

      View full article
    • By William Maley
      Plans for a flagship Jeep may have been trashed. Autoline Daily reported yesterday that Fiat Chrysler Automobiles have cancelled plans for the Grand Wagoneer that was due for the 2019 model. Citing information from industry planning company Auto Forecast Solutions, Autoline Daily says the company cannot stretch out the platform that underpins the Jeep Grand Cherokee and Dodge Durango for a model that would be in a higher segment. 
      Autoline Daily goes on to say that work may continue on a flagship model for Jeep, but use the platform that underpins the Ram 1500 pickup.
      Rumors of the Grand Wagoneer have been floating around for a couple of years and it only recently confirmed by Jeep CEO Mike Manley. Last month, we got a possible preview as to what Grand Wagoneer's front end could look like.
      Source: Autoline Daily (Video Below)
       
    • By William Maley
      When I go back and look at the various Kia Optimas I have driven for Cheers & Gears, there has been one variant that I haven’t driven, the 2.0L turbo-four. But this changed back over the summer when a 2016 Kia Optima SXL came into the Cheers & Gears’ Detroit bureau for a week-long evaluation. The SXL serves as the Optima’s flagship trim with more premium materials and the turbo-four.
      As I mentioned in my Optima EX review from earlier this year, the redesigned Optima looks familiar to the previous model. But that isn’t a bad thing per say. It is still as sharp looking as the previous model and the changes done such as a new trunk lid, LED taillights, a smaller grille, and reshaped headlights. The SXL takes it a step further with a set of 18-inch alloy wheels, Turbo badging on the fender vents, and a little bit more chrome. Finished in a dark blue, the Optima SXL is damn good looking midsize sedan. You won’t find many differences in the SXL’s interior compared to other Optima’s. The key one is the seats being wrapped Nappa leather with a quilted pattern. If I am being honest, I can’t really tell difference between the Nappa leather and the standard leather used on other Kia models.  But what I can tell the difference with is the materials used in the SXL’s interior. Kia swaps the soft-touch plastic used on the dash and door panels for stitched leatherette. This is to give the impression that you’re in something more expensive and it works very well. The Optima SXL’s backseat is slightly tighter than the one found in the Optima EX. Why? The SXL comes with a panoramic sunroof as standard, which eats into headroom. Let’s talk about the engine. The SXL features a 2.0L turbocharged four-cylinder with 245 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque. This is paired with a six-speed automatic. Leaving a stop, it takes a moment for the engine to fully wake up and you can’t help but wonder where is the power. At first, I thought this new 2.0L developed a bad case of turbo-lag. But I soon realized that it was a lazy throttle that was causing this issue. This is something we have been noticing in recent Hyundai and Kia models equipped with the turbo engine. Once you get over the lazy throttle, the engine moves the Optima with some authority. Merging onto a freeway or making a pass is no problem as the turbo quickly spools up and gives the necessary thrust. It doesn’t hurt the engine is very refined. EPA fuel economy figures stand at 22 City/32 Highway/25 Combined. I achieved a not too shabby 26.1 mpg average for the week. One of my biggest complaints about the last Optima I drove was the uncomfortable ride. The tuning on the EX model let in more bumps and road imperfections inside than what I was expecting. To my surprise, the SXL featured a more comfortable ride. Despite featuring larger wheels, the SXL was able to iron out most bumps and imperfections. I can’t explain why there is a vast difference in terms of ride quality between the two trims at this time. The SXL does retain the sharp handling that we liked in the Optima EX. Body motions are kept in check and the steering provides a nice heft when turning. Some will lament that the steering doesn’t have the same feel as something like the Mazda6, but this has to be Kia’s best effort yet.  The Optima SXL begins at $35,790 and that includes every option available on the Optima as standard equipment - 18-inch alloy wheels, dual-zone climate control, heated and ventilated front seats, a Harman/Kardon audio system, navigation, blind-spot monitoring, adaptive cruise control, surround view camera system, and much more. Some might balk at the price. But considering what the SXL brings to the table, along with its improved ride quality, it is very much worth the price. Plus, you might be able to work out a deal to where you’ll be able to cut the price. We’ve seen dealers cutting about $2,000 to $4,000 off Optima SXLs in an effort improve sales of the midsize sedan. Who knows, you might be able to get one of best equipped and decent driving midsize sedans at a surprising price. Disclaimer: Kia Provided the Optima SXL, Insurance, and One Tank of Gas
      Year: 2016
      Make: Kia
      Model: Optima
      Trim: SXL
      Engine: Turbocharged 2.0L DOHC Four-Cylinder
      Driveline: Six-Speed Automatic, Front-Wheel Drive
      Horsepower @ RPM: 245 @ 6,000
      Torque @ RPM: 260 @ 1,350-4,000 
      Fuel Economy: City/Highway/Combined - 22/32/25
      Curb Weight: 3,594 lbs
      Location of Manufacture: West Point, Georgia
      Base Price: $35,790
      As Tested Price: $36,615 (Includes $825.00 Destination Charge)
      Options:
      N/A

      View full article
  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)