• Sign in to follow this  
    Followers 0

    Quick Drive: 2016 Subaru Forester 2.5i Premium


    • What makes a Forester, a Forester?

    Like it or not, crossovers are dominating the automotive landscape. This is nowhere more apparent than the compact crossover class as it seems a month doesn’t go by without a new model, redesign, or refresh being announced. Case in point is the vehicle seen here, the 2016 Subaru Forester. Just a few weeks after we drove it, Subaru announced mid-cycle refresh which brings a slightly revised exterior, new interior bits, and an upgraded EyeSight system. Now is that going to stop us from reviewing the 2016 model? No. Here is what we thought of the pre-refreshed Forester.

     

    In the spectrum of crossover design, the Forester would be at the boring end. This is a model that doesn’t have any hint of style. It is just a box on wheels. There is a positive to this shape as it gives the Forester a large area of glass. Not only does this improve overall visibility, it also makes the interior feel quite airy and huge.

     

    Speaking of which, the Forester’s interior is one of the most spacious in the class. No matter if you’re sitting in the front or back, you’ll have plenty of head and legroom. The seats themselves provide the right the amount of comfort and support for long trips. Cargo space is towards the top with 31.5 cubic feet with the rear seat up and 68.5 cubic feet with the rear seat down. It should be noted models without the panoramic sunroof have a larger cargo area - 34.4/74.7 cubic feet.

     

    As for the dash, it is similar to the one you’ll find in the Impreza and XV Crosstrek. On the one hand, it is very simple with a logical control layout. On the other hand, Subaru’s choice in materials is slightly disappointing with a fair amount of hard plastics on the dash and door panels. All models feature Subaru’s Starlink infotainment system that comes with either a 6.5-inch or 7-inch screen. Our tester came with latter via an option package. Starlink is one of the better infotainment systems in the marketplace with a simple interface, quick performance, and touch buttons that actually respond on a consistent basis.

     

    Most Foresters will feature the engine found in our tester; a 2.5L boxer-four with 170 horsepower and 174 pound-feet of torque. A six-speed manual is standard on the base model, but most Foresters will come equipped with a CVT. Around town, the 2.5 provides a decent amount of power. We do wish the responsiveness of the engine was a little bit better, but that could be fixed with some tweaks to the CVT. On the freeway, the Forester does take its time to get up to speed. Again, this is likely due to the CVT needing some tweaking. At least the CVT does help with fuel economy. The EPA rates the Forester 2.5i with the CVT at 24 City/32 Highway/27 Combined. Our average for the week landed around 27 MPG.

     

    For the daily grind, the Forester’s suspension delivers a smooth and cushy ride. Another plus is how much quieter Subaru has been making their vehicles. Compared to previous Subarus we have driven, the Forester has a noticeable decrease in road and wind noise. Handling can be described as meh. The Forester does show good body control when going around corners, but the steering feels somewhat rubbery. For most people, this isn’t a deal breaker.

     

    The Forester may not be the sharpest looking compact crossover in the class. But it does have a number of traits that buyers will find as positives such as a spacious interior, high fuel economy figures, all-wheel drive as standard equipment, and Subaru’s excellent EyeSight system that brings lane departure warning, pre-collision braking, and adaptive cruise control that is available on models such as the Premium.

     

    A competent crossover that goes about its business without shouting about it, the Forester in a nutshell.

     

     

    Disclaimer: Subaru Provided the Forester, Insurance, and One Tank of Gas

     

    Year: 2016
    Make: Subaru
    Model: Forester
    Trim: 2.5i Premium
    Engine: 2.5L Boxer-Four
    Driveline: CVT, All-Wheel Drive
    Horsepower @ RPM: 170 @ 5,800
    Torque @ RPM: 174 @ 4,100
    Fuel Economy: City/Highway/Combined - 24/32/27
    Curb Weight: 3,391 lbs
    Location of Manufacture: Ōta, Gunma Japan
    Base Price: $24,795
    As Tested Price: $28,540 (Includes $850.00 Destination Charge)

     

    Options:
    All-Weather Package - $1,895
    Lineartronic CVT - $1,000

    0


    Sign in to follow this  
    Followers 0


    User Feedback


    There are no comments to display.



    Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

    Guest
    You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
    Add a comment...

    ×   You have pasted content with formatting.   Remove formatting

      Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor




  • Popular Stories

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bcs296
      bcs296
      (29 years old)
    2. jcgable
      jcgable
      (30 years old)
  • Similar Content

    • By William Maley
      I wasn’t too keen on the redesigned Hyundai Elantra I drove last year. In the review, I said it didn’t really do enough to compete with the likes of the Chevrolet Cruze and Honda Civic. But maybe the model could redeem itself with the introduction of the Elantra Sport. Hyundai made some key changes such as adding a turbo engine, revised rear suspension, and slight tweaks inside and out. 
      I was really excited to check it out and spend some quality time with it. But life had other plans. The day I was supposed to get the Elantra Sport, I took a tumble down a flight of stairs, causing a fracture in my right leg. Because of this, I really didn’t get to spent a lot of time in the Sport. This is going to be more of a first impressions piece than a review. Hopefully, in the near future, I get to spend some time in the Sport again, barring any injuries.
      Hyundai only made some small changes such as a blacked out grille, side skirts, rear diffuser, and 18-inch alloy wheels for the Sport. The end result is something that stands out from other Elantra’s, but not to the point where it looks like someone went on a shopping spree in the JC Whitney catalog. The only changes the Elantra Sport gets inside are new front seats with extra side bolstering, different gauge layout, and a flat-bottom steering wheel. Otherwise, it is your standard Elantra interior which isn’t a bad thing. The simple dash layout comes paired with the use higher quality materials. Back seat space has seen a nice improvement in terms of legroom, while headroom is still slightly tight for taller folks. Under the hood is a new turbocharged 1.6L four-cylinder with 201 horsepower and 195 pound-feet of torque. This can be paired with a six-speed manual or my tester’s seven-speed DCT. It should be noted this engine is also being used in the recently refreshed Kia Soul! (Exclaim), but it only comes with the DCT. First impressions of this powertrain were disappointing. It doesn’t feel eager to accelerate quickly as the DCT bogs down at lower speeds. Once above a certain speed, the powertrain becomes alive. Hyundai engineered the 1.6 to deliver torque evenly across the rpm band which gives the impression that you will not run out of steam anytime soon. The DCT delivers quick up and downshifts. You can remove most of the bogginess by putting the vehicle into the Sport mode which sharpens the throttle response and quickens gear changes. This makes the Elantra Sport raring to go when leaving from a stop or acerbating from a corner. Underneath the Elantra Sport’s skin, Hyundai has made some significant changes to the chassis. The big change is a new multi-link rear suspension setup that is said to improve the driving dynamics. There is also revised springs, dampers, and steering ratio. End result? This is Hyundai’s best effort in making a fun to drive vehicle. Body roll is minimized and the vehicle feels poised when going into a corner. Steering is still a mixed bag. Turn-in is quick and there is plenty of weight, but there is barely any feedback from the road. For a sporty model, it is a bit disappointing. Compared to the standard Elantra, the Sport does let a few bumps come inside. But it isn’t to a point where your back will be in pain. There’s a nice balance between handling and comfort. Pricing for the Elantra Sport starts at $21,650 for the manual and $22,750 for the DCT. The Elantra Sport seen here came with an as-tested price of $25,985 as it featured an optional premium package that adds a number of features such as an 8-inch touchscreen with navigation, sunroof, blind-spot monitoring with rear-cross traffic alert, and upgraded audio system. Where does the Elantra Sport fit in? It is like the Nissan Sentra SR Turbo/NISMO where it is sportier than the standard model, but not a full blown sport compact like the Volkswagen Golf GTI or Ford Focus ST. Think of it a warm compact and one that is quite surprising (for the brief time I drove it). Disclaimer: Hyundai Provided the Elantra Sport, Insurance, and One Tank of Gas
      Year: 2017
      Make: Hyundai
      Model: Elantra
      Trim: Sport
      Engine: 1.6 Turbo GDI DOHC 16-valve four-cylinder
      Driveline: Seven-speed DCT, Front-Wheel Drive
      Horsepower @ RPM: 201 @ 6000 
      Torque @ RPM: 195 @ 1500~4500
      Fuel Economy: City/Highway/Combined - 26/33/29
      Curb Weight: 3,131 lbs
      Location of Manufacture: Montgomery, Alabama
      Base Price: $22,750
      As Tested Price: $25,985 (Includes $835.00 Destination Charge)
      Options:
      Premium Package for Sport - $2,400.00

      View full article
    • By William Maley
      I wasn’t too keen on the redesigned Hyundai Elantra I drove last year. In the review, I said it didn’t really do enough to compete with the likes of the Chevrolet Cruze and Honda Civic. But maybe the model could redeem itself with the introduction of the Elantra Sport. Hyundai made some key changes such as adding a turbo engine, revised rear suspension, and slight tweaks inside and out. 
      I was really excited to check it out and spend some quality time with it. But life had other plans. The day I was supposed to get the Elantra Sport, I took a tumble down a flight of stairs, causing a fracture in my right leg. Because of this, I really didn’t get to spent a lot of time in the Sport. This is going to be more of a first impressions piece than a review. Hopefully, in the near future, I get to spend some time in the Sport again, barring any injuries.
      Hyundai only made some small changes such as a blacked out grille, side skirts, rear diffuser, and 18-inch alloy wheels for the Sport. The end result is something that stands out from other Elantra’s, but not to the point where it looks like someone went on a shopping spree in the JC Whitney catalog. The only changes the Elantra Sport gets inside are new front seats with extra side bolstering, different gauge layout, and a flat-bottom steering wheel. Otherwise, it is your standard Elantra interior which isn’t a bad thing. The simple dash layout comes paired with the use higher quality materials. Back seat space has seen a nice improvement in terms of legroom, while headroom is still slightly tight for taller folks. Under the hood is a new turbocharged 1.6L four-cylinder with 201 horsepower and 195 pound-feet of torque. This can be paired with a six-speed manual or my tester’s seven-speed DCT. It should be noted this engine is also being used in the recently refreshed Kia Soul! (Exclaim), but it only comes with the DCT. First impressions of this powertrain were disappointing. It doesn’t feel eager to accelerate quickly as the DCT bogs down at lower speeds. Once above a certain speed, the powertrain becomes alive. Hyundai engineered the 1.6 to deliver torque evenly across the rpm band which gives the impression that you will not run out of steam anytime soon. The DCT delivers quick up and downshifts. You can remove most of the bogginess by putting the vehicle into the Sport mode which sharpens the throttle response and quickens gear changes. This makes the Elantra Sport raring to go when leaving from a stop or acerbating from a corner. Underneath the Elantra Sport’s skin, Hyundai has made some significant changes to the chassis. The big change is a new multi-link rear suspension setup that is said to improve the driving dynamics. There is also revised springs, dampers, and steering ratio. End result? This is Hyundai’s best effort in making a fun to drive vehicle. Body roll is minimized and the vehicle feels poised when going into a corner. Steering is still a mixed bag. Turn-in is quick and there is plenty of weight, but there is barely any feedback from the road. For a sporty model, it is a bit disappointing. Compared to the standard Elantra, the Sport does let a few bumps come inside. But it isn’t to a point where your back will be in pain. There’s a nice balance between handling and comfort. Pricing for the Elantra Sport starts at $21,650 for the manual and $22,750 for the DCT. The Elantra Sport seen here came with an as-tested price of $25,985 as it featured an optional premium package that adds a number of features such as an 8-inch touchscreen with navigation, sunroof, blind-spot monitoring with rear-cross traffic alert, and upgraded audio system. Where does the Elantra Sport fit in? It is like the Nissan Sentra SR Turbo/NISMO where it is sportier than the standard model, but not a full blown sport compact like the Volkswagen Golf GTI or Ford Focus ST. Think of it a warm compact and one that is quite surprising (for the brief time I drove it). Disclaimer: Hyundai Provided the Elantra Sport, Insurance, and One Tank of Gas
      Year: 2017
      Make: Hyundai
      Model: Elantra
      Trim: Sport
      Engine: 1.6 Turbo GDI DOHC 16-valve four-cylinder
      Driveline: Seven-speed DCT, Front-Wheel Drive
      Horsepower @ RPM: 201 @ 6000 
      Torque @ RPM: 195 @ 1500~4500
      Fuel Economy: City/Highway/Combined - 26/33/29
      Curb Weight: 3,131 lbs
      Location of Manufacture: Montgomery, Alabama
      Base Price: $22,750
      As Tested Price: $25,985 (Includes $835.00 Destination Charge)
      Options:
      Premium Package for Sport - $2,400.00
    • By William Maley
      Subaru of America, Inc. Reports Record January Sales
      Record January - monthly sales increase 6.8 percent over January 2016 62 consecutive months of yearly month-over-month growth Best January ever for Outback and Forester 35 consecutive months of more than 10,000 Outbacks sold 42 consecutive months of more than 10,000 Foresters sold Cherry Hill, N.J. -  Subaru of America, Inc. today reported 43,879 vehicle sales for January 2017, a 6.8 percent increase over January 2016, and the best January in the history of the company. These results continue the company’s sales momentum from 2016 where Subaru achieved eight consecutive years of record sales and exceeded 615,000 annual sales – a first in company history.  
      January marked the 35th consecutive month of 40,000+ vehicle sales for the company. Outback and Forester sales were notably strong as each model achieved its best January ever. Impreza sales for January 2017 increased 16.5 percent over the same month in 2016. Crosstrek also enjoyed gains over January 2016. In January, Impreza, Legacy and WRX each won Kelley Blue Book 2017 Best Resale Value Awards in their respective categories for a second year in a row. WRX also placed in the Best Resale Value Top 10 for the second consecutive year.
       
      “We have to thank our dedicated retailers who delivered a wonderful start to 2017 with our best January sales ever and our 62nd consecutive month of yearly, month-over-month sales increases,” said Thomas J. Doll, president and chief operating officer.
       
      “With the all-new Impreza arriving at retailers and already selling very well prior to the launch of its advertising campaign in mid-February, we expect an excellent start to the year.” said Jeff Walters, senior vice president of sales.
      Carline Jan-17 Jan-16 % Chg   MTD MTD MTD Forester 12,853 11,904 8.0% Impreza 5,105 4,382 16.5% WRX/STI 2,142 2,336 -8.3% Legacy 3,882 4,473 -13.2% Outback 13,186 11,197 17.8% BRZ 204 361 -43.5% Crosstrek 6,507 6,448 0.9% TOTAL 43,879 41,101 6.8%  
    • By William Maley
      Last year's Geneva Motor Show saw Subaru introduce the XV concept, giving us a preview of what to expect with the next-generation model. Today, Subaru has revealed a teaser for next-generation XV (Crosstrek to us in the states). 
      Unlike some of Subaru's past attempts of taking a concept and making into a watered-down production model, the next XV looks to be very faithful to the concept's design. 
      Subaru is keeping many details quiet, but we can guess some of them.
      Using the new platform that underpins the Impreza Power coming for a 2.0L four-cylinder and the choice of either a five-speed manual or CVT Less spartan interior and all new infotainment system We'll have more details on the XV when it debuts in March.
      Source: Subaru
      Press Release is on Page 2


      Tokyo, January 23, 2017 – Fuji Heavy Industries Ltd. (FHI), the manufacturer of Subaru automobiles, today announced that the all-new Subaru XV will make its world debut at the 87th Geneva International Motor Show to be held in Switzerland (Press day: March 7 – 8 / Open to the public: March 9 – 19, 2017).
      The all-new Subaru XV will be unveiled at the press conference scheduled for 11:00 AM (Central European Time) on March 7 at Subaru booth following a speech by FHI President & CEO, Yasuyuki Yoshinaga.

      View full article
    • By William Maley
      Last year's Geneva Motor Show saw Subaru introduce the XV concept, giving us a preview of what to expect with the next-generation model. Today, Subaru has revealed a teaser for next-generation XV (Crosstrek to us in the states). 
      Unlike some of Subaru's past attempts of taking a concept and making into a watered-down production model, the next XV looks to be very faithful to the concept's design. 
      Subaru is keeping many details quiet, but we can guess some of them.
      Using the new platform that underpins the Impreza Power coming for a 2.0L four-cylinder and the choice of either a five-speed manual or CVT Less spartan interior and all new infotainment system We'll have more details on the XV when it debuts in March.
      Source: Subaru
      Press Release is on Page 2


      Tokyo, January 23, 2017 – Fuji Heavy Industries Ltd. (FHI), the manufacturer of Subaru automobiles, today announced that the all-new Subaru XV will make its world debut at the 87th Geneva International Motor Show to be held in Switzerland (Press day: March 7 – 8 / Open to the public: March 9 – 19, 2017).
      The all-new Subaru XV will be unveiled at the press conference scheduled for 11:00 AM (Central European Time) on March 7 at Subaru booth following a speech by FHI President & CEO, Yasuyuki Yoshinaga.
  • Recent Status Updates

    • Drew Dowdell

      I have one co-worker who has been a thorn in my side for the past 6 months.... but I have to admit that when I need something done that is in his area of expertise, he goes after it like an angry rabid chihuahua and gets it done.
      · 0 replies
    • Drew Dowdell

      Me: I'll take "Shopping" for $800.
      Alex:"This shopping location is popular on Sundays for groups of gay couples, families with small children, and college kids with parents in tow to gather."
      · 3 replies
    • Drew Dowdell

      @gmc Sierra Denali with manufacturer plates and a never used snow plow. Wonder what's going on here.
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)