Server Move In Progress - Read More ×

My last new old car for a looooong time, I swear!!

Ever get one of those opportunities you never thought you would? I was given one over the weekend. I'm a manager at a local auto parts store and a guy named Cadillac Bill comes in often to buy stuff from me and we usually talk $h! and laugh and stuff for a while. He's called Cadillac Bill because he's been buying and selling Cadillacs for a living for nearly thirty years. Periodically he tells me about his finds and things he thinks I might be interested in. Remember my white 1971 Coupe DeVille I bought at the beginning of the summer? Turns out I unknowingly bought that car out from under a friend of his who was very interested in it for a good deal less than what he would have paid. He asks what I'd want for it and I told him I really couldn't come up with a figure, so he invites me to his house on Tuesday night to come look at something he thinks I'd be interested in for a trade. So I drive up there, he shows me, I was impressed, but I didn't have quite what he wanted in order to make it a straight trade. I mention I have another car, a 1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme sedan, and he says he's not interested in it. He says If I don't let him know by the following day that it's going in the Auto Trader on Thursday. I tell him that's okay, but if he doesn't end up selling the car to let me know and maybe I'd have what he wants for it by then. The next morning the phone rings at around 9:00 AM; it's Cadillac Bill calling me back to see what I wanted to do, I assume. I pick up the phone and he says to me "Well, I talked to a buddy last night and he thinks your Oldsmobile would be the perfect car to give to his girlfriend to learn how to drive on." So with that in mind, I roped Sixty8 into taking the Oldsmobile up for me and SpeedingPenguin into chasing us the two hours make the trade happen. So, with my deepest apologies to Knightfan for trading away his potential winter beater an