Considering purchasing a Silverado 1500 Classic. Any comments? I would like to make sure the truck can fulfill my needs.

DavidCL2

I am a part time law student, but during the day I refurbish rental properties for a relative. I used to use a 2000 dodge caravan to haul my equipment, but that is not available anymore. I have a 2 man crew. Would a regular work truck comftorably carry 3 people (or at least semi-comftorably, I would really preffer to save the ~$4k and get the regular cab model especially since it would enable me to make the whole purchase in cash)? Would you recommend the vinyl or cloth interior? I have $3500 saved up on my GMcard, that along with the current $5000 rebate plus eager dealers makes it possible for me to buy a plain jane V6 work truck with cash. I may be able to swing an automatic + ac without dipping into credit, but is it really important to have an automatic transmission? I do have a second car, an 07 g6 value package so for long trips I will use that.

Do you guys think the v6 engine is sufficient (it seems to be the only avalable option from my local dealers, but if its worth the trip and expense I will hunt down a v8, there has to be one within a couple hundred miles).

Is it important to purchase the eaton locking rear differential if I never plan to take the truck off road (I am only looking at the 2 wheel drive models)?

This will be my first truck purchase and I am clueless as to what is important for long term hauling!

Thanks in advance

David Cappell

P.S.

Do you feel the incentives will go up in the near future (labor day etc?) I can push of the purchase for a little while if necissary.

A regular cab, long bed Work Truck with cloth or vinyl interior, 4.3L V6, automatic, air and locking differential would make a fine, long lasting workhorse of a truck. You really cannot go wrong. Go for it while the 1500 Classics are still around to choose your colors.