Sign in to follow this  
Mach5GTP

My butt + Solstice seat = Joy

If you don’t need yet another Solstice opinion, skip to the last paragraph for something possibly more interesting.

I was at my local Pontiac dealer yesterday picking up a couple things for my wife’s Aztek, when I was again drawn to the silver Solstice they have in the showroom. I’d looked it over a few weeks prior (I’m actually surprised it’s still there, since I’m pretty sure it’s the same one), but couldn’t bring myself to sit in it, for fear of being overcome with desire. I got in this time, and it felt nice- not great, but nice. (I’ve been a Grand Prix pilot for almost 11 years, very used to it and it’s obviously a totally different feel.) I’m not what you’d call “svelte” (I’m workin’ on it!), so the seat was a bit of a tight fit, but I liked the ergonomics, even tho the only tilt steering wheel setting that worked for me was the very highest, which I guess is OK since I would be raising it anyway to get out. The seat was all the way back; if I were any taller it would be a tight fit, it seemed, and I’m barely 5’11” in shoes. I found the seat belt hard to get at when sitting. The driving position was good, tho. The sun visor was next to useless; I couldn’t get to it swing out to the side, it looked like it doesn’t (didn’t want to force it). Seemed like good visibility, at least to the front and sides.