Server Move In Progress - Read More ×

Brake Problems

So the Grand Marquis needs brake lines and the master cylinder seal. I've never done this before. How hard is it to replace lines? I'm sure it varies from vehicle to vehicle, but a general idea of what to do and the difficulty involved would be helpful.

So the Grand Marquis needs brake lines and the master cylinder seal. I've never done this before. How hard is it to replace lines? I'm sure it varies from vehicle to vehicle, but a general idea of what to do and the difficulty involved would be helpful.

Brake lines can be a handful, but its one of those things that gets easier as you get the experience under your belt, so to say.

First, you need to assess exactly how much brake line you are replacing and what type. I assume we are not talking about the rubber lines, as they are generally a bolt in deal... usually a fused, stripped, ground off bolt in deal, but a bolt in deal nonetheless. GM stuff uses a banjo bolt on the calipers and a line nut on the other end and a clip... Fords are likely similar. Loosen the line nut before removing the clip. When reinstalling, be sure to get the line oriented right, as the clip won't go on right otherwise... the orientation in conjunction with the crimping helps hold the lines from rubbing on stuff.

Steel lines in some cases can be replaced complete, like the front lines... or need to be patched... usually rear lines are installed before the body and drivetrain is dropped in, so you can't really get them in or out without destroying them, unless you are doing a frame-off.