Horsepower Meets Hertz

Variance

Horsepower Meets Hertz

-Variance

September 20, 2006

Posted Image

No, this isn’t an article about the Shelby Mustang GT-H. Rather, it’s a look at the state of technology in vehicles today.

Me, I’m a bit of a tech head. I want the latest and fastest computer. I want a big plasma screen TV. I can take pictures on my thin cell phone while talking on my Bluetooth headset. I love seeing and experiencing advances in technology because to me new technology – in most cases -- means progress and if there’s one thing I like, it is progress. (I’ll come back to my “in most cases” caveat later.)

In addition to being a technology fan, I also consider myself a car enthusiast. So when there’s new technology being developed for cars, it’s always of interest to me.

Modern Age Motoring Miracles...

It’s incredible the amount of convenience even mainstream modern cars offer compared to those of just a decade ago. Here are some of my favorites:

*Keyless entry and start: Even some the cheapest cars have this feature as at least an option. No more fumbling around with keys; just pull the door handle, plant your seat in the seat, press a button and you’re off.

*Navigation systems: I’d kill to have one of these in my car. No longer to people have to put up with oversized, unintelligible and impossible to refold paper maps. Mapquest, you say? That can’t automatically offer a detour like the more advanced systems can based on traffic conditions.

*General engine technology: Direct injection, displacement-on-demand, hybrid powertrains – all things that are great advancements in automobile technology. They allow us to drive vehicles that allow us to get more from less. Thanks to technologies such these, modern engines are more powerful while being more economical. Who can argue with that?

But probably most importantly....