Lend Me Your Wisdom

pallak7

Hello Everybody,

Let me start off by saying I know very little about cars. I'm a software engineer by trade so please keep that in mind as you respond to my post(s). I know most of the basic components work. I can fix a flat and change my oil but that's about it.

Here's my story: I've been contemplating for the past, oh I don't know...year and a half, about buying a new car. I'm at the point in my life (and career for that matter) where I can afford to buy myself something nice. During that time, the Sierra Denali has been front and center in my thinking. I haven't really been thinking about it all that seriously though because I don't really drive that much anymore. I take the metro (subway) to work and am able to walk to the metro station for my house. So, the only time I really use my car is on the weekends and even then, I don't use it all that much. Because of this, I haven't really been compelled to visit a dealership and check one out. That is, until recently.

My sister needs a new car. She's been driving a '94 (I think) Honda Civic that has lived its life and then some. It's beginning to break down and she needs something more reliable. However, she doesn't make a great living; she works at a daycare center. So, my father has offered to provide her with a more reliable means of transportation. This is where the plot thickens. He knows I've been thinking about buying a new car for a while now and rather than buying her a new (or used, Carmax) car, he has offered to assist me in purchasing one if I were to give her my very reliable 2000 Ford Ranger. It's a very tempting offer and the more I think about it, the more I want to do it. Keep in mind, I could pay for the whole thing if I wanted to but it's not a burden I would happily bare. I've checked out GMC's website and have read a bunch of reviews, articles, etc. about the Denali but there are a few questions I haven't been able to answer. That's where you come in. Hopefully.