Fuel Additives

Anyone ever try adding pure acetone into their gas? Two to three ounces per 10 gallons is supposed to increase mpg, improve combustion and performance without harming the engine or seals. It makes sense on the surface but am still a wee bit skeptical. (No, I'm not Scottish.)

I understand that oil companies can make better blends that would benefit economy. Adding acetone is also supposed to burn cleaner and eliminate blackened tailpipes. As far as efficiency is concerned it makes you wonder why they add ethanol in some pumps because it doesn't exactly aid combustion

Anyway, I'm not an expert on this and not one to buy into this $h! just because I read it somewhere but can someone add to this?

Edited by FloydHendershot

well looked around... and it could be said that when people are paying attention to their fuel ecconomy, they drive more conservatively, thus they get better results... so many fuel results may be short lived until the person resumes their normal driving habbits and stop paying attention to their fuel ecconomy

apparently mythbusters said its a myth...

seeing as it is a chemical designed to remove paints and what not, i'm sure it would work great as a injector & carbon cleaner, as one gentleman suggested it cleaned his oxigen sensors...

and that alone could weild double point gains in fuel ecconomy...

as for why they dont add it into the fuel, perhaps it doesnt work, perhaps it evaporates more fuel then they care to give up, also transportation of large amounts of fuel is dangerous expecially if its evaporating... for example our diesel tankers hold 2500 gallons but due to expansion and other pricipals of fuel we are only capable of transporting a maximum of 2300 gallons...

so think about it as you would... remember gasoline evaporates at room temperature as it is... it doesnt need the aid of acetone, until put under pressure...