Server Move In Progress - Read More ×

Any tuners here? Looking for AFR advice.

I've been learning HPTuners since the beginning of the year, I'm taking it one step at a time and experimenting on my car (very carefully).

Right now I'm studying AFR and DFCO. I noticed that my Malibu (3.6L VVT, DOHC, port-injected) is commanding an AFR of 14.1 while cruising and 11.9 under Power Enrichment. Everything I've read says those numbers are very rich an N/A motor, should be more like low 15s and mid 12s respectively.

Anyone care to discuss this with me? Also if anyone is familiar with HPTuners, is there a simple method to bump up the commanded numbers so I can gauge any improvement? I can post the tune if someone wants to take a look.

Man, I wish my car was as easy to tune as the 1.4T. I could make a safe 20 hp and 30 lb-ft gain in 30 minutes on your car. There are tunes that make 200 whp on that powertrain. That's overkill, IMO, and not reliable, but it can make a healthy 160 hp/180 lb-ft on premium gas no problem.

Edited by cp-the-nerd

Man, I wish my car was as easy to tune as the 1.4T. I could make a safe 20 hp and 30 lb-ft gain in 30 minutes on your car. There are tunes that make 200 whp on that powertrain. That's overkill, IMO, and not reliable, but it can make a healthy 160 hp/180 lb-ft on premium gas no problem.

Normally the car is fine, but this past weekend we had it loaded up with people and luggage. It was pulling hard over some of the western PA mountains and as such the fuel economy really suffered.   When it's just the two of us, we get 32-33 mpg on a trip... but this time we barely hit 27mpg... and that was driving conservatively.

Do you run premium or cheap stuff?

Just 87.  Because I travel so much, I'm not the one who uses the car mostly and thus I'm not the one to fill it up.  That is my main reason for being shy about a tune that would be "Premium Required".