TCC: 2006 Honda Civic Si Review

Variance

2006 Honda Civic Si

The Civic we want.

by John Pearley Huffman (2006-03-03)

Sorry, but this is going to be one of those stories that take a while to start because I'm going to indulge myself. But the 2006 Honda Civic Si is a car that has been too long in coming and it deserves some perspective.

My relationship with the Honda Civic Si is a long and personal one. Back in 1990 my sister bought a new one and I took every opportunity to swipe it out from underneath her and drive it as my own. It was simply a great car that was also a greatly simple car - it had only as many moving parts as necessary and was better for it. Back in 1999 I was torn between buying either a new 1999 Civic Si or a Toyota Tundra pickup (surely a natural cross-shopping dilemma for many of you) and wound up in the Tundra. I still have that pickup and love it, but I've been kicking myself for seven years for not doing the obvious thing and buying both the Tundra and Civic Si back then.

Then four years ago I drove the British-made 2002 Civic Si hatch with which Honda decided to replace the American-assembled coupe and fell out of love. There was nothing wrong with that car per se, but too much of it wasn't quite right. With 160-horsepower on-board from its 2.0-liter i-VTEC four it was actually more powerful than the car it succeeded, but lacked the charm and eager personality of its predecessor. And why is that the Civic Si we got in America had 40-less horsepower, one-less gear, and wheels two-inches in diameter smaller than the Civic Type-R the rest of the world got?

What America wanted in a Civic Si was the two-door coupe body style shoved full of all the good Type-R stuff including the six-speed manual transmission, 200-horsepower engine, big wheels and tires, and a limited-slip differential. With the 2006 edition we get all that and more… maybe even too much more.