hindsight too late

ocnblu

I am usually never awake at this hour.

I dreamed that I became friends with an inner city kid. Somehow I ended up being asked to drive vehicles for him and his other buddies, from one place to another in the city. It was winter time, there was snow on the ground. He was driving an Escalade, I was riding with him.

Throughout the dream, I could feel a growing awareness of what was really happening. He was part of a drug gang and I was an unwitting driver, parking these blingy vehicles and leaving them in rundown, unfamiliar parts of town.

We park the Escalade and I ask him something through mind waves (no talk) like "what do you want me to do next?" (with an ever-growing sense of dread).

He "says": "What did you think? That's all I have for you." We leave the 'Slade and go our separate ways. He disappears, but I go into a house that I somehow know belongs to a reverend. It was like he dropped me off there, but it's 2:30 in the morning, the house is dark, I know everyone is sleeping, so I turn and open the old, dark-stained wooden front door and head down the sidewalk in the snow. I am wearing duck boots.

Now it's early morning, I am still walking, but it's now murky early daylight. I am lost in an unfamiliar part of town. I turn left down an alley, trying to get out of the 'hood, trying to find a familiar landmark so I can orient myself to go home. I look right and see the front end profile of an early '90s white Jetta parked between small outbuildings in someone's backyard. I keep walking, looking ahead to the end of the alley. I become hopeful because I see a building straight ahead on the main street intersecting the alley that looks familiar.

I get to the end of the alley and there is a small parking lot to my left. Everything is in shades of black, white and gray, winter.