Questions about 4x4 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD trucks

Jamie

If all goes well, I'll be looking for a used 4x4 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD truck in a few weeks. A crew Crew Cab or Extended Cab is a must, but the bed length doesn't matter. I know all about Holden Utes, but except for driving a 2002 model Extended Cab, Long Bed, 2WD Silverado 2500HD across the US a few years ago, the Chevy/GMC trucks are something I have very little experience with.

I expect to be looking at 2002 to 2006 models, but I could go a few years older if the truck is really good and the right price.

Are there any years or models to avoid? Conversely, are there any years and models that are really good? Are there any common problem areas I should examine on a potential purchase?

I can't help you out too much, but the GMT-800 series ran in two different "generations" - 1999-2002 and 2003-2006. I do know that along with a MCE, there were a ton of updates done to the GMT-800 pickups with the intro of the 2003 models. Camino and Balthazar are owners of Chevy Silverados from this era, hopefully they'll see this post and respond (in addition to others).

Those Silverados are great all around trucks, James.

It's hard to go wrong with any of them provided that they are in good condition and well-maintained.

Thing is, there are so many configurations and options involved that we'd need more info. on what you're looking for from a truck to give you much guidance. These trucks run the gamut from cheap V6 work trucks to high-end status cruisers and from light duty half tons to duallies.

I would say to avoid the 6.0 V8 if you are concerned at all with fuel economy - it's a great engine, but very thirsty. The 8.1 big block actually gets better mileage.