eBay purchasing

LosAngeles

Just made my first purchase last week, and I'm really brand new to this eBay thing. I was the winning bid for some equipment 7 days ago, and of course had to wait until Wednesday for the PayPal transfer to clear (since the funds weren't aleready up). Of course the seller said he wouldn't ship until he received payment. I know it's Thanksgiving and all, but I'm getting really anxious about the whole thing. How long before I should report the item as not received and go to PayPal about getting the funds back?

If the seller has a good feedback rating (over 95%) with a decent number of feedbacks (say over 25, but preferably over say 75), they have a sizable investment in their eBay reputation and I personally would rest easy. I would agree with Oldsmoboi on the time. I'm currently in the midst of my longest wait to date (since '99): I'm the seller, auction ended 10/16, no payment yet. I'm too nice: I haven't left negative feedback yet; buyer claims payment sent as of 11/5 but it hasn't arrived here. Another e-mail sent 2 days ago- no answer yet. This will be my first negative feedback left. Of course, there's no pressure on me in this case: I still have my item...