Hmmm, to motorcycle or not?

zhawk

Didn't want to steal GMPartsGirl's thread so I figured I would start a new thread to discuss this.

My better half wants me to get a motorcycle to drive back and forth to work on decent days. Now, understand that I have never ridden a motorcycle in my life and am now 40.

Tammy's reasoning is that it will save on gas money. This is true but it would take a while to save enough to pay off the bike in the first place. I would be looking at a used motorcycle, one without too much power, since I am a novice. My brother (who does ride) suggests that I limit it to about 500cc and buy something that I wouldn't be too upset if I laid it down.

I have seen a couple that would possibly work for me, although one is a 800cc, still probably not too much to start with.

BTW, no suggestions of sport bikes, I have some real problems with my back, neck, arms and hands, so sitting one a sport bike would be an absolute killer.

Just as a note, I have a couple of bulging disks in my neck that are pinching the nerve bundles going down to my arms. It causes a lot of sharp shooting pains in my arms and hands and is the probable cause of my migraines. As for the back, I haven't worked up the nerve to tell my doctor about everything with my back. (yeah, I know that's pretty stupid)

Anyway, I wanted to hear opinions and options from you all here.

If you're really in that much pain, I would suggest and old Fatboy or Goldwing. They're smooth as butter, but don't adhere to the "nothing over 500cc" rule and aren't that great on gas. Any Victory would be good choice too.

Yeah, well the price on them kind of makes me hesitate as well. I am not sure how this experiment would work out and don't want to shell out too much.