The Quixtar cult

I found out recently that my best friend from high school and his girlfriend are members of Quixtar, successor to the pyramid-scheme Amway that has been around since the 70s. He first mentioned something to me a couple weeks ago when we were golfing about making money and only having to work a few hours a week by selling things. I was kinda interested because it sounded pretty easy (I assumed it was just some on-line business type of thing) and he told me it was called Quixtar.

But something about that name hung in the back of my mind later that evening when I was back home I remembered a guy trying to recruit me to Quixtar when I was a sophomore in college and thinking it was probably some type of scam so I just politely said I wasn't interested.

Then tonight I get a facebook message from him to all of his friends saying how "this opportunity could change your life" and buzz words like "business-savvy" and got to thinking that this doesn't sound like the guy I have been friends with since 7th grade. Well, I did my research and sure enough, Quixtar sounds like a pyramid scheme. What the fine print tells you is that the average Quixtar IBO earns only $125 a month, and that doesn't include the $60 motivational books and videos that people get hooked on. Quixtar drums it into your head that if you aren't making lots of money, you just aren't savvy enough to run a business and you should buy some motivational books to help you get your feet planted. They have huge conventions in South Carolina that are pretty much like cult-fests where people pay to hear advice and tips on how to make more money...meanwhile, the guys at the top are making like 3/4 of their money off the motivational crap and not the actual product (and another secret...most of them have successful jobs that mask the fact that they only make pennies with Quixtar).