Mattress firmness

Mattresses - how do you like yours?  

21 members have voted

1. 1. How do you like your mattress?

• Firm
    • Soft
    • Other - explain

I was looking forward to Easter weekend to go up to my Mom's in Portland to be "pampered" a little bit. At any rate, I "turn in" in the downstair's bedroom (the guest room) where my Dad spent his last years so he didn't have to do the stairs and couldn't fall asleep! The damn mattress was ridiculously FIRM.

My own mattress is somewhat firm, but it softens up nicely to adjust to body contours and the shifting of your weight. (Nothing special, just a $ 450 set). That right amount of sponginess, together with flannel sheets, and I'm asleep in 5 to 10 minutes as if I was under anesthesia.

So, the mattress in my Mom's guest room screwed up my Easter weekend.

What type of mattress firmness do you prefer?

I fractured a couple of vertebrae when I was a sophomore in high school as a result of a 4-wheeler accident. I had a soft mattress up until that point and loved it, but I need to sleep on a very firm mattress, flat on my back or else I feel like crap the next day.

A 3/4" thick sheet of marine-grade plywood.

How very Klingon of you!

I guess I'm in the middle. Too soft or too hard wouldn't work for me. I need support, but I don't want a rock. I've been shopping around for a new mattress for a couple of weeks and I think I've finally decided on a natural latex mattress. I didn't care for the memory foam. It makes a good pillow, but a terrible mattress.

What's your "sleep number"?

Everybody's different. I was of course joking about the plywood. I like the idea of a weight-distributing mattress, but memory foam is expensive. Can't say I've tested the latex mattress.

I think it's important to have a mattress that can stand up to a good pounding.