Cheers or Jeers: 1931 Duesenberg SJ Liberty Convertible

Cheers or Jeers?  

6 members have voted

1. 1. Cheers or Jeers?

• Cheers! A fair price considering the work that was invested.
    • Jeers! He shouldn't sully the great Duesenberg name with such a cheap knock-off.

Cheers or Jeers: 1931 Duesenberg SJ Liberty Convertible

First some history, In 1913 the Duesenburg brothers Fred and August founded the Duesenburg Automobile & Motors Company in St. Paul MN. They were self taught engineers and built their cars by hand.

Some models included J, SJ, SSJ, J Franway, Clear Vision Sport, Model X, Riviera Phaeton, J LeBaron, J292/2158, just to name a few.

The Purchase of the Duesenburg factory by Erret Lobban Cord in his own words were:

The Culmination of my plans to offer the world an automobile of undisputed rank. In fact, the finest thing on four wheels . Duesenburg cars will be strictly custom built, the owners selecting their own body styles , their own body makes and selecting their own colors. The price will be $18,000, no matter what model from racer to limousine. We will give the buyer 120 - mile - an - hour speed if desired . Naturlly , the production of this type of automoble which carrys a warranty of 15 years, will be limited and we are now taking orders, {Printed in Time Magazine Oct. 18, 1926}

From 1928 - 1937 481 models were produced 384 still exist today.

Famous owners, Tom Mix, Clark Gable, Duke of Windsor, Mae West, Greta Garbo, Howard Hughes,

This is a Hand made all steel body replica of one of the undiscoverd Duesenburgs the SJ. Liberty. Story has it that this car never finished production and body was changed over for a new order.

I run across the blueprints in 2007 , and thought i would bring some history back to life. the car took me 2 1/2 years to build, on and off and just finished up this past spring.