My Letter To Mark Phelan

:scratchchin: I sent this e-mail to Mark Phelan, writer for the Detroit Free Press, in response to his "Build the Camaro" article on the newspapers website. As i tell him near the end of the e-mail, i have put much of myself into the letter, and i humbly submit it for your perusal;

Mr. Phelan,

I am a thirty year vet of the General Motors Corporation. Started back in '76 with Fisher Body in Trenton, New Jersey. I was a nineteen year-old kid in wide-eyed awe at the manufacturing might of the automaker. Back then, GM controlled an unwieldy fifty percent of the US market. Specifically, what i was introduced to, and later became proficient in was roll forming. My department made all types of decorative and functional roll-formed moldings and structural items. Every summer, around the end of May, we'd receive the new tooling for the parts that'd be going on the models in the fall. It was definitely a great time in the plant, in the industry.

Our facility in Trenton was sprawling, in excess of 1.2 million square feet. A sizeable village, if not a city, under one roof. Coming down the stairs from the locker room, there hung a sign.

It Stated:

Have Pride In Yourself

Have Pride In Your Work

....And In GM!

And for me at least, therein lay (or lies) the problem. I took this advice to heart. I embraced the concept. I forged an identity that was for better or worse derived from my employment with General Motors. I married young, two months after my employment started. My wife's name was Diane. She died in June of 2002, from complications of breast cancer at the too young age of 44. During the course of my employment, my wife and I also raised a strong, beautiful and now married daughter named Christa. All of this, and much more, made possible by the good job and benefits I had because of GM. They certainly had my allegiance and devotion.