• Sign in to follow this  
    Followers 0

    Review: 2015 Subaru Legacy 2.5i Premium


    • Could the Subaru Legacy be a credible alternative to the stalwart Honda Accord?


    If you were to ask me what midsize I would recommend for most people, I would say the Honda Accord. It may not be the most exciting or best looking midsize sedan on sale, but it gets the basics right. From a comfortable and spacious interior, to a powertrain delivers excellent power and fuel economy, the Accord got the basics right. I wasn’t sure if anyone could challenge the Accord. But on a cold December afternoon, a 2015 Subaru Legacy 2.5i Premium drove up for a week-long review. Could this be the sedan to challenge the Accord’s status as being one best midsize sedans?

    The new Legacy follows the same idea as Accord on the exterior, minor changes to make it look somewhat new. In the case of Legacy, Subaru’s designers smoothed out and added a bit of roundness to the vehicle. Up front is a large, hexagonal grille with a set of larger headlights. Around back is a little lip spoiler on the trunk. The overall look isn’t something to boast about, but at least you don’t want to hide it in the garage when people come to visit.

    2015 Subaru Legacy 2.5 Premium 1

    On the interior front, the Legacy is Subaru’s best effort yet. The design is simple and clean with a good mix of soft touch plastics and faux brushed aluminum trim. Seats were wrapped in a beige cloth and provided plenty of comfort and support. A nice touch was the seats offering three-level heat, perfect for the cold weather I was driving around in at the time. Back seats offer the same amount of support and good legroom. However headroom is slightly tight for taller passengers due to a sloping roofline.

    The center stack boasts either a 6.2-inch touchscreen - on base models - or an upgraded 7-inch touchscreen on higher trims. The 7-inch screen boasts capacitive touch buttons, multi-touch gesture control, and an app suite. Thankfully Subaru kept knobs for the volume and tune. The interface is easy to use and reminds me a lot of Toyota’s interface with similar fonts and design. However, the system showed signs of slowness when I would scroll through station presets or go into different sections of the system. Also, I found that using the capacitive touch buttons was a bit of hit and miss. Sometimes it would recognize that I hit the button, while other times I would have to hit it a few times for it to realize that I hit it. It's a good start, but I think Subaru needs to do a bit more work to make the system work a bit faster and recognize inputs.

    2015 Subaru Legacy 2.5 Premium 14

    See the next page for thoughts on powertain, handling, and the verdict.


    For most Legacy models, they’ll come equipped with the engine found under the hood of my tester; a 2.5L boxer-four with 175 horsepower and 174 pound-feet of torque. This is paired to Subaru’s Lineartronic CVT and Symmetrical AWD system. For most buyers, the 2.5 is adequate. It's a bit slow off the line, but the engine gradually builds power and keeps up with the flow of traffic. However the 2.5 isn’t the most refined engine as it seems the engine produces the same amount of noise as it does in power. Not helping matters is the CVT which only exacerbates the engine refinement problems. Also, it seems Subaru’s CVT programming has a bug or two. While driving on the freeway, I found that at times that the 2.5 would be spinning around 2,000 rpms, while at other times at 1,750 rpms. I figured out that if I sped up and then slow down, the rpm would decrease. On the plus side, Subaru made the CVT mimic a regular automatic transmission with noticeable ‘shift’ points. Fuel economy is a bright spot for the Legacy 2.5i with the EPA rating it at 26 City/36 Highway/30 Combined. My week saw an average of 29 MPG.

    2015 Subaru Legacy 2.5 Premium 8

    Ride comfort is one of the Legacy’s strong points as the suspension is able to isolate bumps and road imperfections without transmitting any of it to the passengers. Noise isolation is a bit mixed with wind being kept down, although road noise is somewhat apparent. As for driving excitement, the Legacy is ok. Thanks to the all-wheel drive system and a new platform that is stiffer, the Legacy corners surprisingly well. The only items letting down are the tires and a somewhat light-weight steering.

    But there is one key area that Legacy is doing much better than its rivals; active safety. Subaru’s EyeSight system handles a number of the safety systems in the Legacy, including lane departure warning and adaptive cruise control. The system uses two stereo cameras mounted at the top of the windshield to scan the road ahead and provide data for the various safety systems. This setup provided one of best adaptive cruise control systems I have used as the cameras were able to keep the distance and speed I had set, along with smoothly slowing down the Legacy if someone comes into your lane. As for the lane departure warning system, it was able to detect whenever the vehicle was leaving the lane quickly. Now EyeSight is standard on higher trim Legacy models, while the Premium gets it as a $1,195 option. I would say its very much worth it.

    So is the 2015 Subaru Legacy the big challenger to the Honda Accord? Not quite. In some areas such as the handling, fuel economy, and active safety system, the Legacy either matches or exceeds the Accord. However Subaru still has a lot a of work to do with Legacy’s four-cylinder to match the Accord’s refinement in the powertrain and it isn’t quite as spacious as the Accord. Still if all-wheel drive is a requirement on your shopping list, Subaru has a quite the alternative with the Legacy.

    2015 Subaru Legacy 2.5 Premium 6

    Disclaimer: Subaru Provided the Legacy 2.5i, Insurance, and One Tank of Gas

    Year: 2015

    Make: Subaru

    Model: Legacy

    Trim: 2.5i Premium

    Engine: 2.5L Boxer Four-Cylinder

    Driveline: CVT, All-Wheel Drive

    Horsepower @ RPM: 175 @ 5,800

    Torque @ RPM: 174 @ 4,000

    Fuel Economy: City/Highway/Combined - 26/36/30

    Curb Weight: 3,455 lbs

    Location of Manufacture: Lafayette, Indiana

    Base Price: $23,495

    As Tested Price: $25,785 (Includes $795.00 Destination Charge)

    Options:

    EyeSight + Blind Spot Detection & Rear Cross Traffic Alert - $1,195

    Partial Zero Emissions Vehicle - $300.00

    0


    Sign in to follow this  
    Followers 0


    User Feedback


    Interesting auto, but I have to say it looks very dated and ultra conservative compared to what Subaru used to put out. If you are a suby fan people will buy it, but I think there are far better rides out there.

    0

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I will no longer recommend a Subaru anything to anybody after what two good friends went through with there 2007 Legacy and 2008 Forester. Head gaskets. Rear main seals. Wheel bearings. Sunroof leaks. Squeaks and rattles. And neither of these two vehicles had in excess of 80K miles when most of this stuff failed. This car has took a regressive step backwards in styling and now looks very similar to a 2015 Hyundai Sonata which is often criticized for dull boring looks.

    0

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

    Guest
    You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
    Add a comment...

    ×   You have pasted content with formatting.   Remove formatting

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor




  • Popular Stories

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Cory Wolfe
      Cory Wolfe
      (28 years old)
  • Similar Content

    • By William Maley
      Subaru Of America, Inc. Reports Record November Sales
      Record November - monthly sales increase 11.4 percent over November 2015 60 consecutive months of yearly month-over-month growth Best November ever for Outback, Crosstrek, Forester and Legacy Best month ever for Outback 33 consecutive months of more than 10,000 Outbacks sold 40 consecutive months of more than 10,000 Foresters sold Cherry Hill, N.J. -  Subaru of America, Inc. today reported 51,308 vehicle sales for November 2016, an 11.4 percent increase over November 2015 sales of 46,070 vehicles. The company also reported year-to-date sales of 551,955 vehicles, a 4.9 percent gain over the same period in 2015.
      November marked the 33rd consecutive month of 40,000+ vehicle sales for the company. Outback, Crosstrek, Forester and Legacy sales were notably strong as each carline achieved its best November ever. Increased availability of the Outback helped the model set a new monthly sales record of 17,769 units. Additionally, Outback, Legacy and Crosstrek enjoyed double digit gains over November 2015.
       
      “November was the 60th consecutive month of yearly month-over-month sales increases, the longest streak of any automaker in the U.S.” said Thomas J. Doll, president and COO of Subaru of America, Inc. “With the arrival of the all-new 2017 Impreza, the continuation of our annual Share the Love event, and with December typically being one of the best retail sales months of the year, the Subaru franchise is in a great position to achieve its eighth consecutive all-time sales record in 2016.”
      Carline Nov-16 Nov-15 % Chg Nov-16 Nov-15 % Chg   MTD MTD MTD YTD YTD YTD Forester 14,596 13,655 6.9% 160,578 158,395 1.4% Impreza 2,032 4,924 -58.7% 50,112 60,726 -17.5% WRX / STI 2,591 2,481 4.4% 30,341 30,645 -1.0% Legacy 5,814 4,769 21.9% 59,346 54,688 8.5% Outback 17,769 13,079 35.9% 162,203 136,227 19.1% BRZ 235 376 -37.5% 3,927 4,883 -19.6% Crosstrek 8,271 6,786 21.9% 85,448 80,837 5.7% TOTAL 51,308 46,070 11.4% 551,955 526,401 4.9%  
      Moving into the final month of the year, the Subaru Share the Love event will run through January 3, 2017. Subaru of America will donate $250 for every new Subaru vehicle sold or leased to the customer's choice of the following charities: ASPCA®, Make-A-Wish, Meals On Wheels America® and National Park Foundation, or a hometown charity selected by participating Subaru retailers.
       
      “Coming off the recent 2017 ALG Residual Value Awards, retailer traffic remains strong and we continue to attract new customers to Subaru at a record rate,” said Jeff Walters, senior vice president of sales, Subaru of America, Inc. “We're pleased that all of our carlines are receiving recognition and contributing to our ongoing success,” Walters concluded.
       
      In November, Subaru was honored with the “Best Overall Mainstream Brand” Residual Value Award from ALG, the analytics division of TrueCar Inc. and the industry benchmark for projecting future vehicle values and depreciation data. Along with the top honor, six Subaru models earned awards in their respective segments.
      Subaru Impreza – Best Compact Car Subaru WRX – Best Sports Car Subaru Legacy – Best Midsize Car Subaru Forester – Best Compact Utility Vehicle Subaru Crosstrek – Best Subcompact Utility Vehicle Subaru Outback – Best Midsize Utility Vehicle – 2 Row The Annual ALG Residual Value Awards honor the vehicles and brands that are expected to retain the highest percentage of their original price after a conventional three-year period. Seven award wins this year up Subaru’s overall total to twenty-five ALG Residual Value awards won since 2010. Subaru was also named Best Mainstream Brand in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.
    • By William Maley
      When I go back and look at the various Kia Optimas I have driven for Cheers & Gears, there has been one variant that I haven’t driven, the 2.0L turbo-four. But this changed back over the summer when a 2016 Kia Optima SXL came into the Cheers & Gears’ Detroit bureau for a week-long evaluation. The SXL serves as the Optima’s flagship trim with more premium materials and the turbo-four.
      As I mentioned in my Optima EX review from earlier this year, the redesigned Optima looks familiar to the previous model. But that isn’t a bad thing per say. It is still as sharp looking as the previous model and the changes done such as a new trunk lid, LED taillights, a smaller grille, and reshaped headlights. The SXL takes it a step further with a set of 18-inch alloy wheels, Turbo badging on the fender vents, and a little bit more chrome. Finished in a dark blue, the Optima SXL is damn good looking midsize sedan. You won’t find many differences in the SXL’s interior compared to other Optima’s. The key one is the seats being wrapped Nappa leather with a quilted pattern. If I am being honest, I can’t really tell difference between the Nappa leather and the standard leather used on other Kia models.  But what I can tell the difference with is the materials used in the SXL’s interior. Kia swaps the soft-touch plastic used on the dash and door panels for stitched leatherette. This is to give the impression that you’re in something more expensive and it works very well. The Optima SXL’s backseat is slightly tighter than the one found in the Optima EX. Why? The SXL comes with a panoramic sunroof as standard, which eats into headroom. Let’s talk about the engine. The SXL features a 2.0L turbocharged four-cylinder with 245 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque. This is paired with a six-speed automatic. Leaving a stop, it takes a moment for the engine to fully wake up and you can’t help but wonder where is the power. At first, I thought this new 2.0L developed a bad case of turbo-lag. But I soon realized that it was a lazy throttle that was causing this issue. This is something we have been noticing in recent Hyundai and Kia models equipped with the turbo engine. Once you get over the lazy throttle, the engine moves the Optima with some authority. Merging onto a freeway or making a pass is no problem as the turbo quickly spools up and gives the necessary thrust. It doesn’t hurt the engine is very refined. EPA fuel economy figures stand at 22 City/32 Highway/25 Combined. I achieved a not too shabby 26.1 mpg average for the week. One of my biggest complaints about the last Optima I drove was the uncomfortable ride. The tuning on the EX model let in more bumps and road imperfections inside than what I was expecting. To my surprise, the SXL featured a more comfortable ride. Despite featuring larger wheels, the SXL was able to iron out most bumps and imperfections. I can’t explain why there is a vast difference in terms of ride quality between the two trims at this time. The SXL does retain the sharp handling that we liked in the Optima EX. Body motions are kept in check and the steering provides a nice heft when turning. Some will lament that the steering doesn’t have the same feel as something like the Mazda6, but this has to be Kia’s best effort yet.  The Optima SXL begins at $35,790 and that includes every option available on the Optima as standard equipment - 18-inch alloy wheels, dual-zone climate control, heated and ventilated front seats, a Harman/Kardon audio system, navigation, blind-spot monitoring, adaptive cruise control, surround view camera system, and much more. Some might balk at the price. But considering what the SXL brings to the table, along with its improved ride quality, it is very much worth the price. Plus, you might be able to work out a deal to where you’ll be able to cut the price. We’ve seen dealers cutting about $2,000 to $4,000 off Optima SXLs in an effort improve sales of the midsize sedan. Who knows, you might be able to get one of best equipped and decent driving midsize sedans at a surprising price. Disclaimer: Kia Provided the Optima SXL, Insurance, and One Tank of Gas
      Year: 2016
      Make: Kia
      Model: Optima
      Trim: SXL
      Engine: Turbocharged 2.0L DOHC Four-Cylinder
      Driveline: Six-Speed Automatic, Front-Wheel Drive
      Horsepower @ RPM: 245 @ 6,000
      Torque @ RPM: 260 @ 1,350-4,000 
      Fuel Economy: City/Highway/Combined - 22/32/25
      Curb Weight: 3,594 lbs
      Location of Manufacture: West Point, Georgia
      Base Price: $35,790
      As Tested Price: $36,615 (Includes $825.00 Destination Charge)
      Options:
      N/A

      View full article
    • By William Maley
      When I go back and look at the various Kia Optimas I have driven for Cheers & Gears, there has been one variant that I haven’t driven, the 2.0L turbo-four. But this changed back over the summer when a 2016 Kia Optima SXL came into the Cheers & Gears’ Detroit bureau for a week-long evaluation. The SXL serves as the Optima’s flagship trim with more premium materials and the turbo-four.
      As I mentioned in my Optima EX review from earlier this year, the redesigned Optima looks familiar to the previous model. But that isn’t a bad thing per say. It is still as sharp looking as the previous model and the changes done such as a new trunk lid, LED taillights, a smaller grille, and reshaped headlights. The SXL takes it a step further with a set of 18-inch alloy wheels, Turbo badging on the fender vents, and a little bit more chrome. Finished in a dark blue, the Optima SXL is damn good looking midsize sedan. You won’t find many differences in the SXL’s interior compared to other Optima’s. The key one is the seats being wrapped Nappa leather with a quilted pattern. If I am being honest, I can’t really tell difference between the Nappa leather and the standard leather used on other Kia models.  But what I can tell the difference with is the materials used in the SXL’s interior. Kia swaps the soft-touch plastic used on the dash and door panels for stitched leatherette. This is to give the impression that you’re in something more expensive and it works very well. The Optima SXL’s backseat is slightly tighter than the one found in the Optima EX. Why? The SXL comes with a panoramic sunroof as standard, which eats into headroom. Let’s talk about the engine. The SXL features a 2.0L turbocharged four-cylinder with 245 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque. This is paired with a six-speed automatic. Leaving a stop, it takes a moment for the engine to fully wake up and you can’t help but wonder where is the power. At first, I thought this new 2.0L developed a bad case of turbo-lag. But I soon realized that it was a lazy throttle that was causing this issue. This is something we have been noticing in recent Hyundai and Kia models equipped with the turbo engine. Once you get over the lazy throttle, the engine moves the Optima with some authority. Merging onto a freeway or making a pass is no problem as the turbo quickly spools up and gives the necessary thrust. It doesn’t hurt the engine is very refined. EPA fuel economy figures stand at 22 City/32 Highway/25 Combined. I achieved a not too shabby 26.1 mpg average for the week. One of my biggest complaints about the last Optima I drove was the uncomfortable ride. The tuning on the EX model let in more bumps and road imperfections inside than what I was expecting. To my surprise, the SXL featured a more comfortable ride. Despite featuring larger wheels, the SXL was able to iron out most bumps and imperfections. I can’t explain why there is a vast difference in terms of ride quality between the two trims at this time. The SXL does retain the sharp handling that we liked in the Optima EX. Body motions are kept in check and the steering provides a nice heft when turning. Some will lament that the steering doesn’t have the same feel as something like the Mazda6, but this has to be Kia’s best effort yet.  The Optima SXL begins at $35,790 and that includes every option available on the Optima as standard equipment - 18-inch alloy wheels, dual-zone climate control, heated and ventilated front seats, a Harman/Kardon audio system, navigation, blind-spot monitoring, adaptive cruise control, surround view camera system, and much more. Some might balk at the price. But considering what the SXL brings to the table, along with its improved ride quality, it is very much worth the price. Plus, you might be able to work out a deal to where you’ll be able to cut the price. We’ve seen dealers cutting about $2,000 to $4,000 off Optima SXLs in an effort improve sales of the midsize sedan. Who knows, you might be able to get one of best equipped and decent driving midsize sedans at a surprising price. Disclaimer: Kia Provided the Optima SXL, Insurance, and One Tank of Gas
      Year: 2016
      Make: Kia
      Model: Optima
      Trim: SXL
      Engine: Turbocharged 2.0L DOHC Four-Cylinder
      Driveline: Six-Speed Automatic, Front-Wheel Drive
      Horsepower @ RPM: 245 @ 6,000
      Torque @ RPM: 260 @ 1,350-4,000 
      Fuel Economy: City/Highway/Combined - 22/32/25
      Curb Weight: 3,594 lbs
      Location of Manufacture: West Point, Georgia
      Base Price: $35,790
      As Tested Price: $36,615 (Includes $825.00 Destination Charge)
      Options:
      N/A
    • By William Maley
      Most luxury SUVs will never go fully off-road. The closest they’ll ever get is driving down a gravel road. But that doesn’t mean some automakers aren’t filling them with the latest off-road for that one person who decides to. Case in point is the LX 570. Lexus’ variant of the Toyota Land Cruiser has been updated inside and out to try and draw buyers away from the usual suspects in the class.
      For 2016, Lexus has softened the LX’s boxy-shape with some rounded edges and more imposing fenders. The front grille has grown in size to match other Lexus vehicles, though to our eyes it looks more like the head from a Cylon in the 1980’s Battlestar Galactica tv show. The rear features new taillights and a reshaped tailgate. The interior has somehow become more opulent since the last LX we drove. A new dash design features real wood trim and more soft-touch materials. Our tester featured leather upholstery that can be described as red-orange. At first, I thought it was a bit much. But over the week I grew to like the color as it adds some personality. Sitting in either the front or second-row seats of the LX is a pleasant experience. There is plenty of head and legroom for both rows, along with heat. Front seats also get ventilation as standard. The third-row seat is a bit of joke. Getting back there in the first place is quite difficult due to the small gap when you move the second-row forward. Once back there, you find legroom is almost negligible. Finally, the way the third row folds up by side walls and not into the floor hampers cargo space - only offering 41 cubic feet. Lexus’ Remote Touch interface has arrived in the LX this year with a gargantuan 12.3-inch screen sitting on top of the dash. On the plus side, the screen is vibrant and easy to read. The negative is the remote touch controller as you’ll find yourself choosing the wrong function because the controller is very sensitive to inputs. Power comes from 5.7L V8 with 383 horsepower and 403 pound-feet of torque. This is paired with an eight-speed automatic and full-time four-wheel drive system. On paper, the V8 should move the LX 570 with no issue. But a curb weight of 6,000 pounds negates this. Performance can be described as ho-hum as it takes a few ticks longer to get up to speed. At least the eight-speed automatic transmission is a smooth operator and quick to respond when you stab the throttle. The LX 570 is chock full of clever off-road tech such as crawl control, hill start assist, 360-degree camera system, and multi-terrain select system that optimizes various parts of the powertrain and four-wheel drive system. Sadly, we didn’t get the chance to put any of these to the test. No matter the condition of the road, the LX 570 provides a smooth and relaxing ride. Impressive when you consider the LX is riding on a set of 21-inch wheels. Road and wind noise are kept to very acceptable levels. Lexus added a set of adaptive dampers for the 2016 LX and you can adjust the firmness via a knob in the center console - Comfort, Sport, and Sport+. The dampers do help reduce body roll in corners, giving you a little bit more confidence. Steering is what you would expect in an SUV, light and numb. This makes the LX a bit cumbersome to move in certain places such as a parking lot. Compared to the last LX 570 we drove, the 2016 model has gone up in price. Base price now stands at $88,880 and our as-tested price comes in at $96,905. This one feels a bit a more worth of price tag that Lexus is asking for, but I still think a Cadillac Escalade or Range Rover are slightly better in terms of value. If you’re planning a trip to Death Valley or the Rocky Mountains and want something that can you there and back, along with providing all of the luxuries, look no further than the LX. Otherwise, there are a number of other luxury SUVs that make more sense if you’re planning to stay on the pavement. Year: 2016
      Make: Lexus
      Model: LX 570
      Trim: N/A
      Engine: 5.7L 32-Valve, DOHC Dual VVT-i V8
      Driveline: Eight-Speed Automatic, Full-Time Four-Wheel Drive
      Horsepower @ RPM: 383 @ 5,600
      Torque @ RPM: 403 @ 3,600
      Fuel Economy: City/Highway/Combined - 13/18/15
      Curb Weight: 6,000 lbs
      Location of Manufacture: Aichi, Japn
      Base Price: $88,880
      As Tested Price: $96,905 (Includes $940.00 Destination Charge)
      Options:
      Mark Levinson Audio System - $2,150.00
      Dual-Screen DVD Rear-Seat Entertainment System - $2,005.00
      Luxury Package - $1,190.00
      Heads-Up Display - $900.00
      Cargo Mat, Net, Wheel Locks, & Key Glove - $250.00
      All-Weather Floor Mats - $165.00
      Heated Black Shimamoku Steering Wheel - $150.00
      Wireless Charger - $75.00

      View full article
    • By William Maley
      Most luxury SUVs will never go fully off-road. The closest they’ll ever get is driving down a gravel road. But that doesn’t mean some automakers aren’t filling them with the latest off-road for that one person who decides to. Case in point is the LX 570. Lexus’ variant of the Toyota Land Cruiser has been updated inside and out to try and draw buyers away from the usual suspects in the class.
      For 2016, Lexus has softened the LX’s boxy-shape with some rounded edges and more imposing fenders. The front grille has grown in size to match other Lexus vehicles, though to our eyes it looks more like the head from a Cylon in the 1980’s Battlestar Galactica tv show. The rear features new taillights and a reshaped tailgate. The interior has somehow become more opulent since the last LX we drove. A new dash design features real wood trim and more soft-touch materials. Our tester featured leather upholstery that can be described as red-orange. At first, I thought it was a bit much. But over the week I grew to like the color as it adds some personality. Sitting in either the front or second-row seats of the LX is a pleasant experience. There is plenty of head and legroom for both rows, along with heat. Front seats also get ventilation as standard. The third-row seat is a bit of joke. Getting back there in the first place is quite difficult due to the small gap when you move the second-row forward. Once back there, you find legroom is almost negligible. Finally, the way the third row folds up by side walls and not into the floor hampers cargo space - only offering 41 cubic feet. Lexus’ Remote Touch interface has arrived in the LX this year with a gargantuan 12.3-inch screen sitting on top of the dash. On the plus side, the screen is vibrant and easy to read. The negative is the remote touch controller as you’ll find yourself choosing the wrong function because the controller is very sensitive to inputs. Power comes from 5.7L V8 with 383 horsepower and 403 pound-feet of torque. This is paired with an eight-speed automatic and full-time four-wheel drive system. On paper, the V8 should move the LX 570 with no issue. But a curb weight of 6,000 pounds negates this. Performance can be described as ho-hum as it takes a few ticks longer to get up to speed. At least the eight-speed automatic transmission is a smooth operator and quick to respond when you stab the throttle. The LX 570 is chock full of clever off-road tech such as crawl control, hill start assist, 360-degree camera system, and multi-terrain select system that optimizes various parts of the powertrain and four-wheel drive system. Sadly, we didn’t get the chance to put any of these to the test. No matter the condition of the road, the LX 570 provides a smooth and relaxing ride. Impressive when you consider the LX is riding on a set of 21-inch wheels. Road and wind noise are kept to very acceptable levels. Lexus added a set of adaptive dampers for the 2016 LX and you can adjust the firmness via a knob in the center console - Comfort, Sport, and Sport+. The dampers do help reduce body roll in corners, giving you a little bit more confidence. Steering is what you would expect in an SUV, light and numb. This makes the LX a bit cumbersome to move in certain places such as a parking lot. Compared to the last LX 570 we drove, the 2016 model has gone up in price. Base price now stands at $88,880 and our as-tested price comes in at $96,905. This one feels a bit a more worth of price tag that Lexus is asking for, but I still think a Cadillac Escalade or Range Rover are slightly better in terms of value. If you’re planning a trip to Death Valley or the Rocky Mountains and want something that can you there and back, along with providing all of the luxuries, look no further than the LX. Otherwise, there are a number of other luxury SUVs that make more sense if you’re planning to stay on the pavement. Year: 2016
      Make: Lexus
      Model: LX 570
      Trim: N/A
      Engine: 5.7L 32-Valve, DOHC Dual VVT-i V8
      Driveline: Eight-Speed Automatic, Full-Time Four-Wheel Drive
      Horsepower @ RPM: 383 @ 5,600
      Torque @ RPM: 403 @ 3,600
      Fuel Economy: City/Highway/Combined - 13/18/15
      Curb Weight: 6,000 lbs
      Location of Manufacture: Aichi, Japn
      Base Price: $88,880
      As Tested Price: $96,905 (Includes $940.00 Destination Charge)
      Options:
      Mark Levinson Audio System - $2,150.00
      Dual-Screen DVD Rear-Seat Entertainment System - $2,005.00
      Luxury Package - $1,190.00
      Heads-Up Display - $900.00
      Cargo Mat, Net, Wheel Locks, & Key Glove - $250.00
      All-Weather Floor Mats - $165.00
      Heated Black Shimamoku Steering Wheel - $150.00
      Wireless Charger - $75.00
  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online