So what's the employment picture in Australia?

Guest YellowJacket894

Amanda dropped out of the 10th grade and makes 45k a year. I have my diploma and she said finding work should be VERY easy for me, hehehe.

Uh, whoa? :blink:

If you drop out of the 10th grade in the U.S., you don't stand a chance in hell to make that kind of money. Sort of speaks volumes.

$45K in most major cities is the minimum you'd need to get by, and in Sydney you'd be struggling to find somewhere affordable to live on less than $100K per household.

Very true because Sydney is ridiculously high on housing, I think for her 3 bedroom 3 bathroom townhouse she pays 1500 a month in rent. When I move there we've thought of moving where it's cheaper like were her grandparents live. She also told me that her electric bill is dirt cheap, I'm talking $185 for THREE months... :o

Edited by deftonesfan867

Depends on what you'd like to do. Half of my family is Down Under, and most of them live in the cities. However, my uncle and three cousins live in what many call 'the Outback' , in around the the mid-eastern area of Queensland.

I've been to their place a bunch of times, and living isn't as easy as it is in North America. Their power comes from Solar cells, water is stored in tanks from the rains, civilization is a bit of a distance, and you need a decent truck/off-roader to get around, (he has an old Toyota with a diesel). He didn't do too great in school, and although there are good amount of jobs, the pay is pretty horrible, at least in his area.

His sons have recently all moved to the cities of Cairns and Brisbane, and he has recently taken up work in Alice Springs, where jobs are better paying. Some Canadians head there to escape Canada, and get payed decently. I've considered it myself a couple times, and having an Australian passport makes it all the more tempting.