• Sign in to follow this  
    Followers 0

    Review: 2015 Lexus LX 570


    • Old School SUV, With Some Luxuries


    The full-size luxury SUV marketplace are full of models that will never venture off payment. Such models include the Cadillac Escalade, Lincoln Navigator, and Mercedes-Benz GL that have either basic to somewhat advanced four-wheel drive systems. Then there is the Range Rover which boasts a number of off-road technologies and equipment to get you through some of murkiest conditions on earth. Sure, you never see one tackle an off-road trail unless its featured in a promo video, but it’s nice to know the model can get you through. It makes some wonder if there is a competitor that can match the Range Rover in terms of off-road ability and luxuries. Well Lexus believes they have that competitor in the form of the LX 570. I spent a week in it to see if it can compete.

     

    The LX 570 is the sister model to the Toyota Land Cruiser, so a fair number of items are shared between the two. For example, the basic shape of the body are similar. Both models boast similar profiles and key design items such as a large glass area and a split-opening tailgate. At least Lexus’ designers should be credited for trying to make the LX look somewhat different from the Land Cruiser. Such details include flared out fenders boasting 20-inch wheels, and a set of running boards. The front-end gets the brand’s distinctive spindle grille and a set of headlights with LEDs. The addition of the spindle grille seems out of place when compared to the rest of the LX’s design.

     


    2015 Lexus LX 570 11


    The interior of the LX 570 further differentiates from the Land Cruiser thanks to a new dashboard layout and some luxury touches. Step inside and you’ll notice the large amount of leather and wood trim used throughout. You’ll also notice a large number of buttons and switches throughout the dash and center console. These control aspects of the four-wheel drive and other systems to get you through the muck. The latest version of Lexus’ Enform infortainment system is here, minus the mouse controller. Instead you have a fair number of buttons and a touchscreen to help you move around. It takes a few moments to wrap your head around where everything is, but once it clicks, the system becomes quite easy to use. However, the system is starting to look somewhat dated when compared to competitors. Plus, I want to ask the person who thought it was a great idea to put the fan control in the system and not have a dedicated knob or buttons for it.

     

    Passengers up front get power adjustments with memory, along with heat and cooling. I found the front seats to provide excellent support and the heat was very nice for the extreme cold that I found myself driving the LX in. Second row passengers will find an abundance of head and legroom, along with heated seats and a two-zone climate control system. There is a third row, but that’s best left in case of emergencies as legroom is minimal. The third-row also presents a problem for cargo space. With the seats down, the LX 570 only has 15.5 cubic feet of space. Fold the seats up and space increases to 45 cubic feet, but the seats are still in the cargo area. Now you might wonder why the seats don’t fold into the floor. The answer is the four-wheel drive and off-road equipment takes up all that space.

     

    Thoughts on Engine and Ride Are on the Next Page


     

    Power for the LX 570 comes from a 5.7L V8 with 383 horsepower and 403 pound-feet of torque. This is paired with a six-speed automatic and a full-time four-wheel drive system. Tipping the scales at just a hair over 6,000 pounds, the V8 engine has its work cut out for it. But thanks to the engine having a decent amount of torque and a quick-shifting automatic, the LX is able to get out of its way with no sweat. Lexus should also be given credit for the amount of refinement done to the engine as it barely makes a murmur when accelerating. The big downside for this powertrain is fuel economy. The EPA rates the LX 570 at 12 City/17 Highway/14 Combined. I was lucky to get 13 MPG as my average for the week.

     

    Now as I mentioned earlier, the LX 570 comes packed with a fair amount of off-road equipment and tech. Here is what LX comes with:

    • Adjustable Suspension
    • Hill-Start Assist
    • Turn Assist: Brakes the outside wheel to provide a tighter turning radius
    • Crawl Control: Adjusts throttle and brakes when driving through difficult terrain



    2015 Lexus LX 570 7


    So how does the LX 570 fare off-road then? Well mother nature was happy to oblige by dropping a few inches of snow during my time with the vehicle. For the most part, the LX was able to drive through unplowed roads with no problem. The four-wheel drive system kept the vehicle moving while the adjustable suspension kept the body above the snow. One downside on the LX was the tires equipped. The Dunlop Grand Trek tires felt like they were scrambling for traction in the snow. If you’re planning to get an LX to drive in the snow, I would recommend swapping tires.

     


    Aside from this brief excursion into the snow, the LX did alright around town and on the expressway. With the suspension set in either comfort or normal, the LX glides over bumps and imperfections. Sound deadening is excellent with nary a hint of road and wind noise entering the cabin. Out on the curves, the LX shows signs of body lean. Even with the suspension set in the Sport setting, the lean is noticeable. Steering is slow, giving the feeling that you are driving a tractor and not an SUV.

     

    The Lexus LX 570 has the luxuries and off-road tech which puts it in the direct line of the Range Rover. But the poor gas mileage and cargo space make it an outlier in the full-size luxury SUV class. If you are planning to traverse the Rocky Mountains or go on a summer vacation in the Sahara desert, then the LX 570 makes sense. Otherwise, you have a fair number of competitors that offer better fuel economy and a few more luxuries for the price.

     

    Disclaimer: Lexus Provided the LX 570, Insurance, and One Tank of Gas

     

     

    Year: 2015
    Make: Lexus
    Model: LX 570
    Trim: N/A
    Engine: 5.7L 32-Valve, DOHC, Dual VVT-i V8
    Driveline: Six-Speed Automatic, Full-Time Four-Wheel Drive
    Horsepower @ RPM: 383 @ 5,600
    Torque @ RPM: 403 @ 3,600
    Fuel Economy: City/Highway/Combined - 12/17/14
    Curb Weight: 6,000 lbs
    Location of Manufacture: Toyota, Aichi Japan
    Base Price: $82,930
    As Tested Price: $90,720 (Includes $925.00 Destination Charge)

     

    Options:
    Mark Levinson Audio System - $2,350
    Dual-Screen DVD Rear-Seat Entertainment System - $2,005
    Luxury Package - $1,510
    Intuitive Park Assist - $1,000

    0


    Sign in to follow this  
    Followers 0


    User Feedback


     

    The full-size luxury SUV marketplace are full of models that will never venture off payment.

     

     

    Well they are all pretty damn expensive.

    0

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

    Guest
    You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
    Add a comment...

    ×   You have pasted content with formatting.   Remove formatting

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor




  • Popular Stories

  • Similar Content

    • By William Maley
      We're just only month away before the Detroit Auto Show kicks off and automakers are beginning to tease out what they'll be showing. Today, Lexus has announced that the next-generation LS will debut at Detroit. Not much is known about the next LS aside from it using the all new Global Architecture-Luxury (GA-L) that debuted on the LC coupe this year. It would not be surprising if we see the 5.0L V8 (473 horsepower) with the 10-speed automatic and hybrid powertrains from LC being used in the LS.
      Source: Lexus 
      Press Release is on Page 2


      New Lexus LS Flagship Sedan to Make Global Debut at the 2017 NAIAS
      TORRANCE, Calif. (December 8, 2016) -- Lexus announced today that the all-new, fifth-generation LS flagship sedan will make its world debut at the 2017 North American International Auto Show next month.
      The introduction of the LS 400 in 1989 in Detroit made automotive history as a world-class car for the United States. Not only did the vehicle make its mark by offering the drive performance, quietness, and luxury that consumers expected from a premium vehicle, but its unveiling also heralded the birth of the Lexus brand.
      Now, 28 years later, the all-new LS sedan will be a world-class car for more than 90 countries around the globe, boasting a bold new look with a coupe-like silhouette. Built on the company’s all-new global architecture for luxury vehicles (GA–L), the premium rear-wheel drive platform—an extended version of that used in the LC 500—will offer a more dynamic experience on the road.  Inside the spacious cabin, luxurious appointments and visionary technology will provide drivers with the luxury experience they expect from a global flagship sedan.

      View full article
    • By William Maley
      We're just only month away before the Detroit Auto Show kicks off and automakers are beginning to tease out what they'll be showing. Today, Lexus has announced that the next-generation LS will debut at Detroit. Not much is known about the next LS aside from it using the all new Global Architecture-Luxury (GA-L) that debuted on the LC coupe this year. It would not be surprising if we see the 5.0L V8 (473 horsepower) with the 10-speed automatic and hybrid powertrains from LC being used in the LS.
      Source: Lexus 
      Press Release is on Page 2


      New Lexus LS Flagship Sedan to Make Global Debut at the 2017 NAIAS
      TORRANCE, Calif. (December 8, 2016) -- Lexus announced today that the all-new, fifth-generation LS flagship sedan will make its world debut at the 2017 North American International Auto Show next month.
      The introduction of the LS 400 in 1989 in Detroit made automotive history as a world-class car for the United States. Not only did the vehicle make its mark by offering the drive performance, quietness, and luxury that consumers expected from a premium vehicle, but its unveiling also heralded the birth of the Lexus brand.
      Now, 28 years later, the all-new LS sedan will be a world-class car for more than 90 countries around the globe, boasting a bold new look with a coupe-like silhouette. Built on the company’s all-new global architecture for luxury vehicles (GA–L), the premium rear-wheel drive platform—an extended version of that used in the LC 500—will offer a more dynamic experience on the road.  Inside the spacious cabin, luxurious appointments and visionary technology will provide drivers with the luxury experience they expect from a global flagship sedan.
    • By William Maley
      Toyota Motor Sales Reports November 2016 Sales
      TMS posts best-ever light truck sales for the month Highlander records all-time best-ever sales up almost 67 percent  TCUV and L/Certified by Lexus achieve best-ever annual sales record after only 11 months TORRANCE, Calif. (December 1, 2016) – Toyota Motor Sales (TMS), U.S.A., Inc., today reported November 2016 sales of 197,645 units, an increase of 4.3 percent from November 2015 on a volume basis. With two more selling days in November 2016 compared than November 2015, sales were down 4.1 percent on a daily selling rate (DSR) basis. 
       
      Toyota Division posted November sales of 168,595 units, up 5.3 percent on a volume basis and down 3.2 on a DSR basis.
       
      “We expect to see the industry set a new sales record for November,” said Bill Fay, group vice president and general manager of the Toyota Division. “All-time best-ever Highlander sales combined with November best-ever RAV4 volume extends the Toyota Division’s 2016 streak of consecutive light truck sales records to 11 months.”
       
      Lexus posted November sales of 29,050 units, down 1 percent on a volume basis and 8.9 percent on a DSR basis. 
       
      "Our luxury utility vehicles continues to lead the way, with best-ever November sales for NX and best-ever November sales for the full LUV line up," said Jeff Bracken, Lexus division group vice president and general manager. "December is always one of our strongest months of the year, and we are poised for a December to Remember as we enter the month with the best light truck availability of the whole year."
       
      November 2016 Highlights  
      Corolla up almost 12 percent, posts sales of 28,262 units; records best-ever November Camry posts November sales of 28,189 units TMS light trucks up 14 percent; a best-ever month Toyota Division SUV up nearly 20 percent Highlander up almost 67 percent; posts all-time best-ever month RAV4 posts sales of 28,116 units, up 2.7 percent; posts best-ever November 4Runner sales were up almost 14 percent Toyota Division pickups up almost 14 percent Tacoma up 15.3 percent Tundra sales were up 11.5 percent  TCUV had a best-ever month and achieved its best-ever annual sales record after only 11 months L/Certified by Lexus posts best-ever November sales; achieved its best-ever annual sales record after only 11 months Lexus LUVs up 10.4 percent; posts best-ever November sales     NX up almost 56 percent; posts best-ever November LX up almost 20 percent in November IS up 16.6 percent
    • By William Maley
      When I go back and look at the various Kia Optimas I have driven for Cheers & Gears, there has been one variant that I haven’t driven, the 2.0L turbo-four. But this changed back over the summer when a 2016 Kia Optima SXL came into the Cheers & Gears’ Detroit bureau for a week-long evaluation. The SXL serves as the Optima’s flagship trim with more premium materials and the turbo-four.
      As I mentioned in my Optima EX review from earlier this year, the redesigned Optima looks familiar to the previous model. But that isn’t a bad thing per say. It is still as sharp looking as the previous model and the changes done such as a new trunk lid, LED taillights, a smaller grille, and reshaped headlights. The SXL takes it a step further with a set of 18-inch alloy wheels, Turbo badging on the fender vents, and a little bit more chrome. Finished in a dark blue, the Optima SXL is damn good looking midsize sedan. You won’t find many differences in the SXL’s interior compared to other Optima’s. The key one is the seats being wrapped Nappa leather with a quilted pattern. If I am being honest, I can’t really tell difference between the Nappa leather and the standard leather used on other Kia models.  But what I can tell the difference with is the materials used in the SXL’s interior. Kia swaps the soft-touch plastic used on the dash and door panels for stitched leatherette. This is to give the impression that you’re in something more expensive and it works very well. The Optima SXL’s backseat is slightly tighter than the one found in the Optima EX. Why? The SXL comes with a panoramic sunroof as standard, which eats into headroom. Let’s talk about the engine. The SXL features a 2.0L turbocharged four-cylinder with 245 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque. This is paired with a six-speed automatic. Leaving a stop, it takes a moment for the engine to fully wake up and you can’t help but wonder where is the power. At first, I thought this new 2.0L developed a bad case of turbo-lag. But I soon realized that it was a lazy throttle that was causing this issue. This is something we have been noticing in recent Hyundai and Kia models equipped with the turbo engine. Once you get over the lazy throttle, the engine moves the Optima with some authority. Merging onto a freeway or making a pass is no problem as the turbo quickly spools up and gives the necessary thrust. It doesn’t hurt the engine is very refined. EPA fuel economy figures stand at 22 City/32 Highway/25 Combined. I achieved a not too shabby 26.1 mpg average for the week. One of my biggest complaints about the last Optima I drove was the uncomfortable ride. The tuning on the EX model let in more bumps and road imperfections inside than what I was expecting. To my surprise, the SXL featured a more comfortable ride. Despite featuring larger wheels, the SXL was able to iron out most bumps and imperfections. I can’t explain why there is a vast difference in terms of ride quality between the two trims at this time. The SXL does retain the sharp handling that we liked in the Optima EX. Body motions are kept in check and the steering provides a nice heft when turning. Some will lament that the steering doesn’t have the same feel as something like the Mazda6, but this has to be Kia’s best effort yet.  The Optima SXL begins at $35,790 and that includes every option available on the Optima as standard equipment - 18-inch alloy wheels, dual-zone climate control, heated and ventilated front seats, a Harman/Kardon audio system, navigation, blind-spot monitoring, adaptive cruise control, surround view camera system, and much more. Some might balk at the price. But considering what the SXL brings to the table, along with its improved ride quality, it is very much worth the price. Plus, you might be able to work out a deal to where you’ll be able to cut the price. We’ve seen dealers cutting about $2,000 to $4,000 off Optima SXLs in an effort improve sales of the midsize sedan. Who knows, you might be able to get one of best equipped and decent driving midsize sedans at a surprising price. Disclaimer: Kia Provided the Optima SXL, Insurance, and One Tank of Gas
      Year: 2016
      Make: Kia
      Model: Optima
      Trim: SXL
      Engine: Turbocharged 2.0L DOHC Four-Cylinder
      Driveline: Six-Speed Automatic, Front-Wheel Drive
      Horsepower @ RPM: 245 @ 6,000
      Torque @ RPM: 260 @ 1,350-4,000 
      Fuel Economy: City/Highway/Combined - 22/32/25
      Curb Weight: 3,594 lbs
      Location of Manufacture: West Point, Georgia
      Base Price: $35,790
      As Tested Price: $36,615 (Includes $825.00 Destination Charge)
      Options:
      N/A

      View full article
    • By William Maley
      When I go back and look at the various Kia Optimas I have driven for Cheers & Gears, there has been one variant that I haven’t driven, the 2.0L turbo-four. But this changed back over the summer when a 2016 Kia Optima SXL came into the Cheers & Gears’ Detroit bureau for a week-long evaluation. The SXL serves as the Optima’s flagship trim with more premium materials and the turbo-four.
      As I mentioned in my Optima EX review from earlier this year, the redesigned Optima looks familiar to the previous model. But that isn’t a bad thing per say. It is still as sharp looking as the previous model and the changes done such as a new trunk lid, LED taillights, a smaller grille, and reshaped headlights. The SXL takes it a step further with a set of 18-inch alloy wheels, Turbo badging on the fender vents, and a little bit more chrome. Finished in a dark blue, the Optima SXL is damn good looking midsize sedan. You won’t find many differences in the SXL’s interior compared to other Optima’s. The key one is the seats being wrapped Nappa leather with a quilted pattern. If I am being honest, I can’t really tell difference between the Nappa leather and the standard leather used on other Kia models.  But what I can tell the difference with is the materials used in the SXL’s interior. Kia swaps the soft-touch plastic used on the dash and door panels for stitched leatherette. This is to give the impression that you’re in something more expensive and it works very well. The Optima SXL’s backseat is slightly tighter than the one found in the Optima EX. Why? The SXL comes with a panoramic sunroof as standard, which eats into headroom. Let’s talk about the engine. The SXL features a 2.0L turbocharged four-cylinder with 245 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque. This is paired with a six-speed automatic. Leaving a stop, it takes a moment for the engine to fully wake up and you can’t help but wonder where is the power. At first, I thought this new 2.0L developed a bad case of turbo-lag. But I soon realized that it was a lazy throttle that was causing this issue. This is something we have been noticing in recent Hyundai and Kia models equipped with the turbo engine. Once you get over the lazy throttle, the engine moves the Optima with some authority. Merging onto a freeway or making a pass is no problem as the turbo quickly spools up and gives the necessary thrust. It doesn’t hurt the engine is very refined. EPA fuel economy figures stand at 22 City/32 Highway/25 Combined. I achieved a not too shabby 26.1 mpg average for the week. One of my biggest complaints about the last Optima I drove was the uncomfortable ride. The tuning on the EX model let in more bumps and road imperfections inside than what I was expecting. To my surprise, the SXL featured a more comfortable ride. Despite featuring larger wheels, the SXL was able to iron out most bumps and imperfections. I can’t explain why there is a vast difference in terms of ride quality between the two trims at this time. The SXL does retain the sharp handling that we liked in the Optima EX. Body motions are kept in check and the steering provides a nice heft when turning. Some will lament that the steering doesn’t have the same feel as something like the Mazda6, but this has to be Kia’s best effort yet.  The Optima SXL begins at $35,790 and that includes every option available on the Optima as standard equipment - 18-inch alloy wheels, dual-zone climate control, heated and ventilated front seats, a Harman/Kardon audio system, navigation, blind-spot monitoring, adaptive cruise control, surround view camera system, and much more. Some might balk at the price. But considering what the SXL brings to the table, along with its improved ride quality, it is very much worth the price. Plus, you might be able to work out a deal to where you’ll be able to cut the price. We’ve seen dealers cutting about $2,000 to $4,000 off Optima SXLs in an effort improve sales of the midsize sedan. Who knows, you might be able to get one of best equipped and decent driving midsize sedans at a surprising price. Disclaimer: Kia Provided the Optima SXL, Insurance, and One Tank of Gas
      Year: 2016
      Make: Kia
      Model: Optima
      Trim: SXL
      Engine: Turbocharged 2.0L DOHC Four-Cylinder
      Driveline: Six-Speed Automatic, Front-Wheel Drive
      Horsepower @ RPM: 245 @ 6,000
      Torque @ RPM: 260 @ 1,350-4,000 
      Fuel Economy: City/Highway/Combined - 22/32/25
      Curb Weight: 3,594 lbs
      Location of Manufacture: West Point, Georgia
      Base Price: $35,790
      As Tested Price: $36,615 (Includes $825.00 Destination Charge)
      Options:
      N/A
  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)