It's That Time Again...

Cory Wolfe

I'm embarking on yet another car search. It seems to be a yearly occurrence for me, though I still have a ways to go to reach the likes of Ocnblu's quarterly car purchasing spree. I'm probably not too far off at this rate...

While I've loved my Legacy Turbo, it's becoming a bit of a burden. It's hard on insurance, even harder on gas, and hasn't been holding up as well as I had hoped. It's a great car with a performance pedigree (if you ignore the soft suspension, anyways), and It's likely to be my favorite over time. With that said, it has some faults that I overlooked originally. The most notable has to be the aforementioned gas mileage with my average often hanging below 20 mpg. That's a pretty big sting when you've put alot of miles commuting to and from work. Bigger still, when you realize that's not regular grade gasoline you just filled the tank with, but the premium stuff instead. With my previous job as a delivery driver, I could often justify the gas mileage by the tips I received. Having quit that job, I'm moving up to regular 9-5 full-time job now. I'll be making much more in the long run, but I will no longer have the instant satisfaction of having my gas paid for by the customers I delivered to. It was never very practical for that job either, to be honest. The remaining faults are fairly minor and nitpicky, such as the lack of folding rear seats or its butt-breaking harshness over bumps (despite that soft suspension I mentioned).