Television Theme Songs

Paolino

Okay, so I've been saying this for a few years now... tv show theme songs are gone. I don't even know why it's so important, but at any given moment, you can hum a theme from a tv show anytime between the 50's through the early 2000's, and everyone knows what it you're talking about. Most smile and join in.

TV shows now don't have theme songs (at least most of them). They have a title screen at most. Some don't even do that and scroll credits during the beginning of the episode.

Am I the only one who misses theme songs? The reason I bring it up is because again the discussion surfaced tonight when my cell went off ringing to the theme of The Office, and people chimed in humming it.

Just today, a co-worker said to me "haven't you seen that on TV?" I then stated that I only watch about 20 hours of TV A YEAR.

What made you think of this ... just curious ... because the MSN home page reported that the man who came up with "The Addams Family" jingle passed away within the last week or so. Sad, because he was evidently very talented.

Others that are catchy, but equally stupid, are:

- Three's Company

- Gilligan's Island

- The Beverly Hillbillies

- Green Acres

- Good Times/The Jeffersons (I think one of these said " movin' on up, to the East Side")

I'm sorry, but I never gave this much thought, but now thinking about these songs and their lyrics makes me :rotflmao:

Edited by trinacriabob

What made you think of this ... just curious

The reason I bring it up is because again the discussion surfaced tonight when my cell went off ringing to the theme of The Office, and people chimed in humming it.

I complain about this all the time. It's just one less expense for a show. Also, shows don't have any music period now. No more composing music for the show.

CHiPs used to have some of the best composed music. Alan Silvestri did the music on CHiPs. In fact, it launched him into the big time.