Officially a stockholder

I bought 50 shares of Ford today @ $5.10, my first trade in the stock market. After the yesterday's earnings tumble (F lost about $.90) and the Ford's outlook the next couple years, I feel like it's a pretty solid investment. I'm planning on buying more soon, and hopefully some GM in a few months after I have some time to watch it. I went through ShareBuilder.com and it's pretty easy to use considering I have no previous experience with stock markets.

Does anyone else hold any automotive stock? Or just stock in general?

i had some ford and sold it too quickly... had it around 6 before it went up to ~7.50

still have ~30 shares of GM, got one dividend payment. no use of selling it now, unless i really need about 2/3 of what i bought it at.

not yet... market hasn't hit rock bottom.

I mean i paid alot in capital gains in the past 2 years so i think i figured out the stock market. if you want to make money GM and F are not were to look

Well, I'm definitely looking to go long with Ford; I'm not a short player.

What are some good, cheap stocks that have a lot of potential for growth? The tech sector was on fire about a year ago but like everything else, it seems to have cooled with the rest of the market. I've read that GE has a lot of potential for growth if wind energy takes off, but I'm not sure I'm ready to invest $42/share or whatever it was at this point.

i own 1 share of coca cola my uncle bought me when i was 6.... does that count? :P

It's better than the "stockings" I own :AH-HA_wink: ... when my grandmother was alive and I was a little boy, she used to call my socks stockings because she didn't know the word for "socks" in English. And no matter how many times I tried to tell her, she never remembered it.

Well, I'm definitely looking to go long with Ford; I'm not a short player.