Oil Change Thread

ccap41

I know almost all of us have vehicles that need their oil changed and as enthusiasts most of us do them on our own, I would assume. Well let's post our oil changes as we go, just for the heck of it. Discuss oil, filters, intervals, anything oil change related.

I used to work in the oil change and tire industry and I grew a weird passion for the topics so they're fun to talk about for me.

Well, Let's hear it!

Here's kind of a general format(and my most recent oil change):

2013 Ford Escape 2.0T AWD

08/17/15

Out: Pennzoil Ultra Platinum 5w-30
Filter: Purolator Synthetic
4950 miles on oil.

In: Pennzoil Ultra Platinum 5w-30
Filter: Bosch 'Premium' 3300

I run Mobile 1 in all three cars in the factory spec weight.

The Honda always gets a Purolator PureOne - I change when the maintenance interval light comes on, about 7,500 miles

The Oldsmobile always gets an A/C Delco - I change every 5,000 miles and also add a bottle of ZDDP

The Buick gets an A/C Delco cartridge - changed when the DIC tells me to.

Standard Mobil 1? Or do you run any of the "extended performance" or "high mileage"?

5-20,

10-30,

5-30 for those three vehicles?

Just the standard because that's all that costco sells. And yes.   The 5-20 is harder to find for the Honda, and sometimes I can't get it at Costco... so when I see it there and it's on special, I buy a box whether I have a pending oil change or not.  The Honda gets so little use these days I'm only changing the oil about once per year.

Mobil 1 for the Malibu 3.6L and 4,000-6,000 mile intervals. I used standard ACDelco filters until they switched to "e" series filters, which I found out are rebadged Fram e-core junk. Now I use ACDelco UPF-48R which is a rebadged Mobil 1 Extended Performance filter shared with the Corvette C6 and others.