6t5frlane

New " Cuda "

37 posts in this topic

Over at Car Domain there are pics and video of a 2008? Cuda at the SEMA 2007 show. Totally retro but freakin cool ! Shaker and all....

Looks like a Challenger with a Mustang-inspired ass end?

Meh. Do we really need a badge engineered Challenger? I don't think this concept is a good idea because it will just rile up the Plymouth faithful on their dead brand.

Oh, I'm not technically a member of "Plymouth Faithful" but I just found it disappointing that Chrysler was pressed to kill the brand when cars like the Pronto Spyder showed that much could be done.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Oddly enough, this car was not built by Chrysler, and not even with the Challenger body. It is a custom carbon fiber body, on a current Charger frame, or just with a Charger interior and some other kind of frame. Someone on Allpar noticed that the logo on the steering wheel, looks like a "Metalcrafters" logo.

SEMA 2007: Chrysler Barracuda Concept

Posted Oct 30th 2007 7:25PM by Damon Lavrinc

Unless you've got an uncle on the verge of buying the farm or Grand Canyon deep pockets, you won't be able to pick up an actual 'Cuda anytime soon. According to a Chrysler exec on hand at SEMA, the Barracuda concept is a one-off production car built for one of those overtly wealthy gearhead. We don't have any details on who this mystery magnate is, but with a 6.1-liter HEMI, a body entirely molded in carbon fiber, six piston Brembo brakes and a set of 22-inch Zenetti five-spoke wheels wrapped in Pirelli PZeros, it's guaranteed that he (or she) will be enjoying laying rubber around his private estate.

While the full carbon fiber body is trick and the Lambo orange paint makes the 'Cuda "pop," we're baffled that the interior is pulled straight from the Charger SRT8 parts bin. Figure this car is worth more than its weight in unobtanium and you'd think that a few extra bucks for some Alcantara and Recaros wouldn't do much damage to the bottom line.