Guest Josh

AutoExtremist: Auto Mags Are DEAD

53 posts in this topic

Guest Josh   
Guest Josh

I've been saying this for three years!

The traditional monthly car magazines are dead - they just don't know it yet.

Detroit. If you were to look at the balance sheets of the leading car magazines right now, you would be absolutely stunned at the staggering amounts of revenue they generate every year. Legendary money machines, these magazines make hundreds of millions of dollars annually for the corporate behemoths that lord over them with an iron fist. And if you look at the Big Picture only from those companies' perspective, then the good times seemingly will go on forever. But there are deep and growing cracks in the facade of these money machines - and these fissures threaten to destroy these notorious cash cows once and for all.

First of all, I'll make no bones about what I generally think of what passes for the car magazine biz these days, because it is a sad state of affairs indeed. What once was a an uproarious, fun and passion-filled profession has been reduced to a monthly death march of relentless tedium. The unbridled genius and inspired chaos that once ran rampant at the car magazines in their heyday has turned into an ugly, formulaic and painfully predictable tea dance of orchestrated sameness - and they've become homogenized and sanitized facsimiles watered down to the lowest common denominator.

Why has this happened? It's simple, really. These magazines have been clipped, cropped, chopped and neutered in order to adhere to their corporate overlords' revenue goals - and that means that at no time can these magazines ever offend the UGT (Ultimate Gravy Train) - aka the car companies.